Statelessness

Keywords: Asylum

"The term «stateless person» means a person who is not considered as a national by any State under the operation of its law".

This definition is found in Article 1 paragraph 1 of the United Nations Convention of 28 September 1954 relating to the Status of Stateless Persons (SR 0.142.40). The Convention was adopted by the UN in 1954 in order to regulate the legal status and rights of residence of people displaced from their home countries during the Second World War who were not refugees as defined in the UN Refugee Convention of 1951. Switzerland ratified the Stateless Persons Convention in 1972.

The Swiss Federal Supreme Court amended this definition to add that a person must also be deemed stateless if they have lost their nationality through no fault of their own and have no means of reinstating it.

Causes of statelessness

Statelessness can have a variety of causes. The dissolution of states, cession of territory and the arbitrary refusal or withdrawal of nationality by a nation state can lead to statelessness. Commonly it is members of certain ethnic groups in a nation state or refugees who become stateless; for example, following the collapse of the former Soviet Union and the former Yugoslavia many people were left with no recognised nationality. Statelessness can also result from the different rules on citizenship applied by states to newly born children.

UN mandate

As the problems experienced by refugees and stateless persons often overlap, in 2003 the UN General Assembly gave the UN High Commission for Refugees UNHCR a special mandate to deal with stateless persons. Under this mandate, the UNHCR works with governments with the aim of improving the legal and social status of stateless persons and of reducing their numbers. As far back as 1949, the UN had already set up the UNRWA, the UN Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees in the Near East, to monitor and support Palestinian refugees in Lebanon, Jordan, Syria, the West Bank and the Gaza Strip.

Jurisdiction in the recognition procedure

Under Article 14 of the Organisation Ordinance of 17 November 1999 for the Federal Department of Justice and Police FDJP (OrgO-FDJP; SR 172.213), in Switzerland the State Secretariat for Migration (SEM) is responsible for conducting procedures to recognise statelessness. Foreign nationals who believe that they are stateless under the UN Convention of 28 September 1954 relating to the Status of Stateless Persons can apply to the SEM to have their status as stateless recognised.

Formal requirements for verifying statelessness

A written application to be recognised as stateless may be submitted to the SEM in any of Switzerland’s official languages. The application must clearly state the grounds for recognition and include any available evidence. Each application is examined by the SEM individually. The SEM bases its examination on the provisions of the Federal Act on Administrative Procedure (APA; SR 172.021), the international rules contained in the Convention and the case law developed by the courts.

Article 1 paragraph 2 of the UN Convention of 28 September 1954 relating to the Status of Stateless Persons sets out the groups of persons to whom the Convention does not apply.

Rights of stateless persons recognised in Switzerland

When a person is recognised as being stateless in terms of the Convention, they have the right to remain resident in Switzerland (Permit B or C). If a recognised stateless person has committed a criminal offence, residence rights may be limited to temporary admission (Permit F). With regard to personal status and residence, recognised stateless persons are regarded as equivalent to recognised refugees under the Refugee Convention of 1951, who have been granted asylum. On request, recognised stateless persons will be issued with Swiss travel documents.

Documentation

Legal bases

to the top Last modification 03.02.2017

Staatenlosigkeit

Schlagwörter: Asyl

"Staatenlos ist eine Person, die kein Staat aufgrund seiner Gesetze als seinen Staatsangehörigen anerkennt".

Diese Definition ist in Artikel 1 Absatz 1 des UNO Übereinkommens vom 28. September 1954 über die Rechtsstellung der Staatenlosen (StÜ; SR 0.142.40) aufgeführt. Das Übereinkommen wurde im Jahr 1954 von der UNO erlassen, um die rechtliche Situation und den Aufenthalt der im Zweiten Weltkrieg aus ihren ursprünglichen Ländern vertriebenen Menschen zu regeln, die nicht als Flüchtlinge im Sinne der UNO Flüchtlingskonvention von 1951 galten. Die Schweiz ratifizierte das Übereinkommen im Jahr 1972.

Das Bundesgericht fügt an, dass eine Person dann als staatenlos zu bezeichnen ist, wenn sie ohne eigenes Zutun die Staatsangehörigkeit verloren und keine Möglichkeit hat, diese (wieder) zu erlangen.

Ursachen der Staatenlosigkeit

Staatenlosigkeit kann verschiedene Ursachen haben. Staatsauflösungen, Gebietsabtretungen aber auch die willkürliche Verweigerung oder der Entzug der Staatsangehörigkeit durch einen Nationalstaat können zu Staatenlosigkeit führen. Betroffen sind insbesondere Angehörige von bestimmten ethnischen Gruppen in einem Nationalstaat oder Flüchtlinge, aber auch Personen nach dem Zerfall von Staatengemeinschaften oder Staaten wie der ehemaligen Sowjetunion und des ehemaligen Jugoslawiens. Staatenlosigkeit kann auch aufgrund unterschiedlicher Abstammungsprinzipien von Staaten bei neugeborenen Kindern eintreten.

Mandate der UNO

Da sich die Probleme von Flüchtlingen und Staatenlosen oft überschneiden, übertrug die UN-Generalversammlung im Jahr 2003 dem UNO Hochkommissariat für Flüchtlinge UNHCR ein spezielles Mandat für Staatenlose. Im Rahmen dieses Mandats arbeitet das UNHCR mit den Regierungen zusammen auf das Ziel hin, die rechtliche und soziale Situation von Staatenlosen zu verbessern und die Zahl von staatenlosen Personen zu vermindern. Für die Betreuung und Unterstützung von palästinensischen Flüchtlingen im Libanon, in Jordanien, in Syrien sowie in der West Bank und dem Gaza Strip errichtete die UNO bereits im Jahr 1949 die UN Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees in the Near East UNRWA.

Zuständigkeit im Anerkennungsverfahren

Nach Artikel 14 der Organisationsverordnung vom 17. November 1999 für das eidgenössische Justiz- und Polizeidepartement EJPD (OV-EJPD; SR 172.213) ist in der Schweiz das Staatssekretariat für Migration (SEM) zuständig für die Durchführung von Verfahren zur Anerkennung der Staatenlosigkeit. Ausländische Personen, die sich als staatenlos im Sinne des UNO Übereinkommens vom 28. September 1954 über die Rechtsstellung der Staatenlosen betrachten, können beim SEM ein Gesuch um Anerkennung der Staatenlosigkeit einreichen.

Formelle Bedingungen für die Prüfung der Staatenlosigkeit

Ein Gesuch um Anerkennung der Staatenlosigkeit kann beim SEM in einer Schweizer Amtssprache schriftlich eingereicht werden. Es muss eine konkrete Begründung und die vorhandenen Beweismittel enthalten. Jedes Gesuch wird durch das SEM im Einzelfall geprüft. Das SEM stützt sich bei der Prüfung auf die Bestimmungen des Bundesgesetzes über das Verwaltungsverfahren (VwVG; SR 172.021), auf die völkerrechtlichen Normen des Übereinkommens und die bisher entwickelte Gerichtspraxis.

In Artikel 1 Absatz 2 des UNO Übereinkommens vom 28. September 1954 über die Rechtsstellung der Staatenlosen sind Ausschlussklauseln aufgeführt.

Rechte von anerkannten Staatenlosen in der Schweiz

Wird einer Person gestützt auf das Übereinkommen die Staatenlosigkeit zuerkannt, hat sie Anspruch auf eine Aufenthaltsregelung in der Schweiz (Ausweis B oder C). Bei straffälligen, als staatenlos anerkannten, Personen kann der Aufenthalt durch eine vorläufige Aufnahme (Ausweis F) geregelt werden. In Bezug auf die personenrechtliche Stellung und den Aufenthalt sind anerkannte Staatenlose den gestützt auf die Flüchtlingskonvention von 1951 anerkannten Flüchtlingen mit Asyl, gleichgestellt. Auf Gesuch hin wird anerkannten Staatenlosen ein schweizerisches Reisedokument ausgestellt.

Dokumentation

Rechtliche Grundlagen

nach oben Letzte Änderung 03.02.2017