Schengen

Travel across much of Europe is now largely unrestricted: we can go from the Mediterranean to beyond the Arctic Circle without passport controls or the need for a visa. This freedom of movement exists because of Schengen. To ensure that such mobility is enjoyed securely and legally, the freedom to travel within the Schengen Area is accompanied by heightened protection of external borders and common provisions for the granting of visas.

Schengen forms a common legal framework that governs the rules for entry/departure and short-term stays in the Schengen Area, i.e. the rules on managing the Schengen external borders and on Schengen visas. Citizens from a third (meaning: non-Schengen) country are subject to the same entry requirements, whether they enter the Schengen Area for example by ship in the Netherlands or at an airport in Switzerland or by train in Poland. The area of Schengen cooperation covers most of the EU (22 EU Members States) and the four associated States (Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein).

In order to adhere to the legislative framework, Schengen States must cooperate with each other on a daily basis in operational and legal matters. The SEM actively participates in such cooperation, e.g. in Schengen working groups at EU level, ensuring that Switzerland's position is taken into consideration. The legislative framework conditions are frequently reworked and adapted so as to tackle emerging challenges or overhaul existing systems. Mobility should be as efficient as possible for border control authorities and travellers alike.

For instance, discussions are currently underway on the future large-scale "Smart Borders" project. "Smart Borders" uses state-of-the-art technology to increase the efficiency of border controls at Schengen external borders and to improve security within the Schengen area. Central to this project is the electronic Entry/Exit System EES. The system will be used to automatically register all third-country nationals entering and leaving the Schengen Area, replacing the current practice of stamping passports. In addition, Schengen Member States will also have the option of introducing a National Facilitation Programme NFP for third-country nationals who travel frequently. Such travellers may be granted "registered traveller" status after pre-vetting, allowing them facilitated border crossing.

In addition, Switzerland has developed a national Integrated Border Management (IBM) strategy within the context of Schengen. Also, and like other Schengen States, Switzerland undergoes the Schengen evaluation on a regular basis.

Links

to the top Last modification 20.09.2016

Schengen

Wir geniessen in einem grossen Teil Europas uneingeschränkte Reisefreiheit. Wir können vom Mittelmeer zum Polarkreis reisen, ohne eine Grenzkontrolle passieren zu müssen oder ein Visum zu benötigen. Schengen erlaubt uns diese Bewegungsfreiheit. Um parallel zur Bewegungsfreiheit die Sicherheit und das Recht zu gewährleisten, steht der Reisefreiheit im Inneren ein verstärkter Schutz der Aussengrenzen wie auch gemeinsame Bestimmungen zur Visumserteilung gegenüber.

Schengen bildet einen gemeinsamen rechtlichen Rahmen, der Regeln zur Ein- und Ausreise sowie Aufenthalt im Schengen-Raum aufstellt, das bedeutet Regeln zur Verwaltung der Schengen-Aussengrenzen und zu den Schengen-Visa. Ein Reisender aus einem Staat, der nicht dem Schengen-Raum angehört, ist den gleichen Einreisebestimmungen ausgesetzt, ob er in den Niederlanden per Schiff im Schengen-Raum ankommt, am Flughafen in der Schweiz landet oder in Polen per Zug die Grenze überquert. Das Gebiet der Schengen-Staaten umfasst den grössten Teil der EU-Staaten (22 EU-Staaten) und die vier assoziierten Staaten (Schweiz, Norwegen, Island und das Fürstentum Liechtenstein).

Um die Einhaltung des rechtlichen Rahmens zu garantieren, bedarf es der täglichen operativen und rechtlichen Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Schengen-Staaten. Das SEM beteiligt sich aktiv an dieser Zusammenarbeit und nimmt beispielsweise an Arbeitsgruppen der EU zu Schengen teil und bringt die Schweizer Position ein. Die rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen werden oft erneuert und angepasst, um aktuellen Herausforderungen Rechnung zu tragen oder auch bestehende Systeme zu modernisieren. Reisebewegungen sollen sowohl für Grenzkontrollorgane als auch für Reisende möglichst effizient erfolgen.

So wird aktuell unter dem Namen "Smart Borders" ein zukünftiges Grossprojekt besprochen. Smart Borders strebt an, mit dem Einsatz moderner Technologien die Grenzkontrollen an den Schengen-Aussengrenzen effizienter zu gestalten sowie die Sicherheit des Schengen-Raumes zu erhöhen. Kernstück dieses Projekts ist das elektronische Ein- und Ausreisesystem (Entry/Exit System, EES). Damit sollen alle Drittstaatsangehörigen bei der Ein- und Ausreise in den bzw. aus dem Schengen-Raum registriert werden. Das System soll die heutigen Passabstempelungen ersetzen. Daneben sollen die Schengen-Staaten die Möglichkeit bekommen, auf freiwilliger Basis nationale Erleichterungsprogrammen (National Facilitation Programmes, NFP) für vielreisende Drittstaatsangehörige einzuführen. Diese Personen können dannnach einer vorgängigen Sicherheitsüberprüfung den Status eines "Registrierten Reisenden" erlangen und dadurch von einer erleichterten Grenzübertrittskontrolle profitieren.

Des Weiteren hat die Schweiz im Rahmen von Schengen eine nationale Strategie zur integrierten Grenzverwaltung entwickelt (Integrated Border Management, IBM). Zudem wird die Schweiz, wie andere Schengen-Staaten auch, regelmässig evaluiert (Schengen-Evaluation).