Other subjects

The main topics of interest to the State Secretariat for Migration in a multilateral context are climate migration and human trafficking/people smuggling.

Climate migration: The Nansen Initiative

Every year, millions of people are forcibly displaced as a result of natural catastrophes. The protection available to those who seek refuge in another country remains inadequate. Their situation is not covered by either the UN 1951 Refugee Convention or the UN Guiding Principles on Internal Displacement. Therefore, together with Norway, Switzerland launched the Nansen Initiative to develop a Protection Agenda with the countries concerned and international organisations as well as civil society, so as to improve the situation of people displaced across borders.

Post-2015 agenda

At the turn of the millennium, the United Nations adopted eight Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) in an effort to halve worldwide poverty by 2015 and promote global development. For the future, too, the international community of states intends to address global challenges by defining specific goals, with a new development and sustainability agenda for the post-2015 period. Switzerland is an active participant in formulating globally applicable development and sustainability goals.

Switzerland’s involvement

Switzerland favours an integrated approach that equally encompasses all three dimensions of sustainable development: economic, social and environmental. Sustainable development also calls for peace, security and respect for human rights. The new goals should apply to all countries but also include country-specific measures. The goals should be action-oriented, measurable and easy to communicate.

Inclusive of migration

It is widely acknowledged that migration has had a major impact on the achievements of the MDGs without being formally reflected in the current framework. Switzerland recognises that global economic and social gains linked to migration require increased attention in order to realise their full potential. On this basis, it proposes three guiding objectives for migration:

  1. Ensuring safe and regular migration, notably by protecting the rights of migrants and guaranteeing access to justice
  2. Reducing the economic and social costs of migration through the transferability of rights, the recognition of qualifications and the limitation of transfer taxes
  3. Facilitating migrants’ contribution to sustainable development by, for example, engaging the diaspora as agents for development and planning any sectoral policy from a mobility and demography perspective.

Switzerland is committed to including these guiding principles in the new goals for sustainable development post-2015.

Documentation

to the top Last modification 25.07.2016

Weitere Themen

Im multilateralen Kontext sind für das Staatssekretariat für Migration die Themen Klimamigration sowie Menschenhandel- und Menschenschmuggel prioritär.

Klimamigration – Nansen Initiative

Jedes Jahr vertreiben Naturkatastrophen Millionen von Menschen aus ihrer Heimat. Diejenigen, welche ins Ausland fliehen müssen, sind ungenügend geschützt. Sie fallen weder unter die UNO-Flüchtlingskonvention von 1951, noch unter die UNO-Leitprinzipien über interne Vertreibung. Die Schweiz hat deshalb zusammen mit Norwegen die Nansen Initiative lanciert, um mit betroffenen Staaten und internationalen Organisationen sowie der Zivilgesellschaft eine Schutz-Agenda zu entwickeln, um die Lage dieser vertriebenen Menschen zu verbessern.

Post-2015 Agenda

Um die weltweite Armut bis 2015 zu halbieren und die globale Entwicklung zu fördern, verabschiedete die UNO zur Jahrtausendwende acht Millenniumsentwicklungsziele (MDGs). Auch künftig will sich die Staatengemeinschaft für die Bewältigung der globalen Herausforderungen an konkreten Zielen orientieren: Für die Zeit nach 2015 soll eine neue Entwicklungs- und Nachhaltigkeitsagenda die Richtung vorgeben. Die Schweiz beteiligt sich aktiv an der Suche universell gültiger Entwicklungs- und Nachhaltigkeitsziele.

Engagement der Schweiz

Die Schweiz setzt sich für Ziele ein, die alle drei Dimensionen der nachhaltigen Entwicklung ausgewogen berücksichtigen: die wirtschaftliche und die soziale Entwicklung sowie die ökologische Nachhaltigkeit. Eine nachhaltige Entwicklung bedingt zudem auch Frieden, Sicherheit und die Respektierung der Menschenrechte. Die neuen Ziele sollen für alle Länder gelten und länderspezifische Massnahmen beinhalten. Wichtig ist auch, dass die Ziele handlungsorientiert, messbar und gut kommunizierbar sind.

Einbezug des Themas Migration

Heute wird allgemein anerkannt, dass die Migration die Verwirklichung der MDGs stark beeinflusst hat, ohne jedoch in diesen Zielen ausdrücklich erwähnt zu sein. Die Schweiz ist sich bewusst, dass die wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Gewinne, die weltweit mit der Migration verbunden sind, zunehmender Aufmerksamkeit bedürfen, damit sie ihr Potenzial ganz entfalten können. Sie schlägt deshalb drei Leitziele im Bereich der Migration vor:

  1. Gewährleistung einer sicheren und regulären Migration, namentlich durch Massnahmen zum Schutz von Migranten und die Garantie des Zugangs zu Gerichten;
  2. Verringerung der wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Kosten der Migration, unter anderem durch die Übertragbarkeit von Rechten, die Anerkennung von Qualifikationen sowie die Begrenzung indirekter Abgaben;
  3. Förderung des Beitrags von Migranten zur Entwicklung, indem beispielsweise die Diaspora als wichtiger Akteur involviert wird sowie sektorspezifische Politikansätze auch unter Berücksichtigung der Mobilität und der Demografie geplant werden.

Die Schweiz setzt sich dafür ein, dass diese Leitlinien in den neuen Zielen für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung post-2015 berücksichtigt werden.

Dokumentation

nach oben Letzte Änderung 25.07.2016