Protection in the Region

The vast majority of refugees worldwide live in Africa, Latin America, Asia and the Middle East, i.e. often in developing countries that do not have sufficient resources to accept large numbers of refugees and offer them real protection. Many refugees and other migrants in need of protection are thus forced to move on to other countries and regions. Given this situation, Switzerland decided to launch specific programmes for improving the protection of refugees and migrants in their regions of origin. These programmes form part of the "Protection in the Region" (PiR) initiative, which was adopted by the Plenum of the Interdepartmental Task Force on Migration in 2007.

Objectives

Swiss involvement in PiR seeks to ensure prompt and effective protection for refugees in their regions of origin and to assist countries of first refuge in giving such persons the protection they need. This should help to reduce onward irregular migration, which often places migrants in serious danger, and may thus lead to fewer asylum applications in Switzerland.

Content

Efforts to achieve these goals include supporting national authorities in developing a fair and efficient asylum procedure and improving the living conditions of refugees. There are also plans to find sustainable solutions, such as facilitated voluntary return to the home country, promoting sustainable local integration, and resettlement of refugee groups (currently Syrians) in third countries.

Implementation

The "Protection in the Region" programme will now be implemented in two regions. The PiR programme in the Horn of Africa and Yemen is an important element of the migration component of Switzerland’s Horn of Africa strategy for 2013-2016. Due to the crisis in Syria, a second PiR programme is now being implemented in Jordan, Lebanon, Turkey and Syria.

Whole-of-government approach

The design and implementation of the Swiss PiR concept is based on a whole-of-government approach, i.e. inter-departmental coordination and cooperation within the Swiss Confederation.

The main agencies involved are the State Secretariat for Migration as well as the Directorate of Political Affairs (Human Security Division) and the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation of the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs.

Documentation

Horn of Africa

Middle East

to the top Last modification 25.07.2016

Protection in the Region

Die überwiegende Mehrheit der Flüchtlinge weltweit befindet sich in Afrika, Lateinamerika, Asien und im Nahen und Mittleren Osten – häufig in Entwicklungsländern, die nicht über genügend Kapazitäten verfügen, um eine grosse Anzahl von Flüchtlingen aufzunehmen und ihnen einen wirksamen Schutz zu gewähren. Viele Flüchtlinge und andere schutzbedürftige Personen sehen sich deshalb gezwungen, in andere Länder und Regionen weiterzuwandern. Mit dieser Realität konfrontiert, hat sich die Schweiz entschlossen, spezifische Programme zur Stärkung des Schutzes von Flüchtlingen und Migranten vor Ort ins Leben zu rufen. Diese Programme sind Teil des Konzepts "Protection in the Region" (PiR), welches im Jahr 2007 durch das Plenum der interdepartementalen Arbeitsgruppe Migration (IAM) verabschiedet wurde.

Ziele

Das schweizerische Engagement im Rahmen von PiR soll dazu beitragen, dass Flüchtlinge möglichst schnell einen wirksamen Schutz in ihren Herkunftsregionen finden. So sollen Erstaufnahmeländer in ihren Bemühungen zu unterstützt werden, diesen Personen den notwendigen Schutz zu gewähren. Dies soll zu einer Verringerung der irregulären Weiterwanderung, bei der die Migranten oft grossen Gefahren ausgesetzt sind, beitragen und kann somit zu einer Abnahme der Asylgesuche in der Schweiz führen.

Inhalt

Um diese Ziele zu erreichen, ist unter anderem geplant, nationale Behörden beim Aufbau eines fairen und effizienten Asylverfahrens und bei der Verbesserung der Lebensbedingungen von Flüchtlingen zu unterstützen. Die Suche nach dauerhaften Lösungen - Erleichterung der freiwilligen Rückkehr in die Heimat, Förderung einer nachhaltigen lokalen Integration sowie die Aufnahme von Flüchtlingsgruppen in Drittstaaten (sogenanntes Resettlement; zur Zeit für Syrer) – ist ebenfalls vorgesehen.

Umsetzung

"Protection in the Region" wird bisher in zwei Regionen umgesetzt. Im Horn von Afrika und in Jemen ist das PiR Programm wichtiger Bestandteil des Migrationspfeilers der Horn von Afrika-Strategie der Schweiz für 2013-2016. Ein zweites PiR-Programm wird derzeit aufgrund der Syrienkrise in den Ländern Jordanien, Libanon, Türkei und Syrien umgesetzt.

Gesamtregierungsansatz

Die Erarbeitung und Umsetzung des schweizerischen PiR-Konzepts stützt sich auf einen Gesamtregierungsansatz, d.h. auf eine interdepartementale Koordination und Kooperation des Bundes ("whole of government approach").

Die involvierten Akteure sind insbesondere das Staatssekretariat für Migration, sowie die politische Direktion (Abteilung Menschliche Sicherheit) und die Direktion für Entwicklung und Zusammenarbeit des Eidgenössischen Departements für auswärtige Angelegenheiten.

Horn von Afrika

Mittlerer Osten

nach oben Letzte Änderung 25.07.2016