Smart Borders

Smart Borders is a general term for two information systems for managing the external borders of Schengen: the Entry/Exit System (EES) and the National Facilitation Programme (NFP) for registered frequent travellers. The aim of the European Commission’s Smart Borders programme is to modernise border control, improve security within the Schengen area, facilitate entry to and exit from the Schengen area for certain groups of people, and increase the efficiency of border checks by automating numerous border control procedures to cope with the ever rising number of travelers.  

The EES registers all third-country nationals entering and leaving the Schengen Area, and automatically calculates their duration of stay. It will replace the current manual practice of stamping passports. Not only will the EES facilitate the detection of irregular migration by exposing people who overstay the authorised duration of stay, it will also help the authorities when carrying out checks inside the Schengen area to identify with greater accuracy people travelling without identity documents using biometric indicators such as facial image and four fingerprints.

The NFP is aimed at third-state nationals who travel frequently (e.g. business people, artists, athletes, students, third-state nationals with relatives in the Schengen states, etc.). On successful completion of a security check, the person is granted the status of ‘registered traveller’ and benefits from facilitated and accelerated travel over borders, for example by using e-gates. In contrast to EES, NFP implementation by the Schengen states is optional.

Progress of work at EU level

Following adoption of the EES directive and the necessary amendment of the Schengen Border Code by the European Parliament in December 2017, the EU IT agency, eu-LISA, began work to develop and implement a central EES system. The system is expected to go into operation throughout the Schengen area in fall 2021.

Progress of work in Switzerland

Switzerland was notified of this further development of Schengen on 17 January 2018 and has two years to implement it in legislative form. On 21 November 2018, the Federal Council adopted the dispatch on implementing the Smart Borders bill and forwarded it to Parliament.

With regard to technical and organisational implementation, the SEM launched the national ‘Smart Borders’ project in September 2016. Two project studies on EES and NFP involving federal and cantonal stakeholders were subsequently carried out. After successful completion of the mandatory assessment for large-scale ICT projects by the Federal IT Steering Unit, the project was given clearance in June 2018. Work on implementing NFP has been suspended following the NFP survey results and stakeholder feedback.

Implementing EES in Switzerland will require amendments to laws and ordinances, and alterations to border control infrastructure. With regard to the infrastructure at the borders, Switzerland will have to introduce an appropriate IT system and link up to the central EES database. In addition, the border control authorities, together with the airport operators, will have to consider installing e-gates and/or self-service kiosks, at least at the larger airports.

The SEM is actively involved at EU level in the implementation of the Smart Borders project through the working groups of the European Commission and the IT agency, eu-LISA.

to the top Last modification 19.11.2018

Smart Borders

Smart Borders ist der Überbegriff für zwei Systeme zur Grenzverwaltung der Schengen-Aussengrenzen: das Ein- und Ausreisesystem (Entry/Exit System, EES) und das Programm für Registrierte Vielreisende (National Facilitation Programme, NFP). Das Smart Borders Paket der Europäischen Kommission hat zum Ziel, die Grenzverwaltung zu modernisieren, die Sicherheit des Schengen-Raumes zu erhöhen, die Ein- und Ausreise in den Schengen-Raum für besondere Personengruppen zu erleichtern und durch die Automatisierung zahlreicher Prozesse die Grenzübertrittskontrolle effizienter zu gestalten, um die stetig steigende Zahl an Grenzübertritten bewältigen zu können.

Das EES dient der elektronischen Erfassung der Ein- und Ausreisen von Drittstaatsangehörigen sowie der automatischen Berechnung der Aufenthaltsdauer im Schengen-Raum. Die heutige manuelle Abstempelung der Reisedokumente wird zu Gunsten eines Eintrages in das EES ersetzt. Mit dem EES soll irreguläre Migration (insb. sog. Overstayer) einfacher entdeckt und undokumentierte Reisende bei Kontrollen im Schengen-Binnenraum u.a. mit der Hilfe von biometrischen Identifikatoren (Gesichtsbild und 4 Fingerabdrücke) eindeutiger identifiziert werden können.

Zielgruppe des NFP sind vielreisende Drittstaatsangehörige (bspw. Geschäftsreisende, Künstler, Sportler, Studierende, Drittstaatsangehörige mit Verwandten in den Schengen Staaten), die nach vorgängiger Sicherheitsüberprüfung den Status eines "Registrierten Reisenden" erlangen und dadurch von einer erleichterten und schnelleren Grenzübertrittskontrolle, z.B. durch die Nutzung automatischer Kontrollgates (e-gates), profitieren können. Im Unterschied zum EES ist die Umsetzung des NFP für die Schengen Staaten freiwillig.

Stand der Arbeiten auf EU-Ebene

Nach Verabschiedung der EES-Verordnung und den für EES erforderlichen Anpassungen des Schengener Grenzkodex durch das Europäische Parlament im Dezember 2017 hat die IT-Generalagentur der EU, eu-LISA mit den technischen Umsetzungsarbeiten zur Entwicklung und Betrieb eines EES-Zentralsystems begonnen. Das EES soll Schengen-weit voraussichtlich im 3. Quartal 2021 in Betrieb genommen werden.

Stand der Arbeiten in der Schweiz

Mit der Notifizierung der Schengen-Weiterentwicklung an die Schweiz am 17. Januar 2018, hat die Schweiz zwei Jahre Zeit, diese rechtlich umzusetzen. An seiner Sitzung vom 21. November 2018 hat der Bundesrat die entsprechende Botschaft zur Umsetzung der Smart Borders Vorlage zu Handen des Parlaments verabschiedet.

Was die technische und organisatorische Umsetzung betrifft, hat das SEM das nationale Umsetzungsprojekt "Smart Borders" im September 2016 initialisiert. Unter Einbezug der Stakeholder von Bund und Kantone wurden in der Folge zwei Projektstudien zum EES und NFP verfasst. Nach erfolgreichem Durchlaufen des obligatorischen Assessments für IKT-Grossprojekte durch das Informatiksteuerungsorgan des Bundes (ISB) wurde im Juni 2018 die Projektfreigabe erteilt. Die Umsetzungsarbeiten zu NFP wurden gestützt auf die Erkenntnisse der NFP-Studie und der Rückmeldungen der Stakeholder sistiert.

Die Einführung des EES wird in der Schweiz einerseits Anpassungen bei den rechtlichen Grundlagen (auf Gesetzes- und Verordnungsstufe), andererseits Anpassungen bei der Grenzkontrollinfrastruktur nach sich ziehen. Was die Infrastruktur an den Grenzen betrifft, wird die Schweiz ein entsprechendes IT-System einführen und sich an das EES-Zentralsystem anschliessen müssen. Zudem werden die zuständigen Grenzkontrollbehörden zumindest an den grösseren Flughäfen und unter Einbezug der Flughafenbetreiber die freiwillige Installation automatischer Kontrollgates (e-gates) und/oder von Self-service Kiosks, prüfen müssen.

Das SEM beteiligt sich aktiv an den Umsetzungsarbeiten des Smart Borders-Projekts auf europäischer Ebene in den Arbeitsgruppen der Europäischen Kommission und der IT-Generalagentur eu-LISA.

nach oben Letzte Änderung 20.11.2018