Social assistance

The public social assistance authorities provide support to destitute persons with refugee status, asylum seekers, provisionally admitted persons and those in need of protection1).

The cantons are responsible for providing social assistance: in some cantons this task is delegated to the communal authorities, in other cantons relief organisations undertake this task. The costs are reimbursed by the Federal Government. The assessment of social assistance, i.e. the amount of money available for the payment of benefits, is made according to cantonal law. Thus the amount the Federal Government reimburses can have a considerable effect on the amount of payments made to asylum seekers and provisionally admitted persons. Persons with refugee status have to be treated equally to the native population, receiving the standard rates of assistance that apply to their place of residence.

Approximately 70 percent of asylum seekers, provisionally admitted persons and persons with refugee status received financial support in 2009. In the same year, the Federal Government reimbursed 299 million Swiss francs in social assistance for asylum seekers and provisionally admitted persons and 64 million Swiss francs for persons with refugee status.

Every canton has an asylum coordination office which on the one hand ensures the coordination of social assistance within the respective canton and on the other functions as a contact agency for the State Secretariat for Migration.


1) The status «Persons in need of protection» was introduced during the complete revision of the Asylum Act in 1999. Since then, this status has never been granted to a group of persons.

to the top Last modification 13.09.2016

Aide sociale

Mots-clés: Soutien financier | Asile

Les requérants d’asile, les personnes admises à titre provisoire, les personnes à protéger1) et les réfugiés statutaires sont assistés par les offices d’aide sociale dès lors qu’ils se trouvent dans le besoin.

L’octroi des prestations d’assistance relève de la compétence cantonale. Dans certains cantons, cette tâche est déléguée aux communes ou à des œuvres d’entraide. La Confédération indemnise les cantons de leurs frais d’assistance. Le calcul des montants affectés à l’aide sociale, – soit par exemple le budget dévolu à l’aide sociale – s’effectue selon le droit cantonal. Cependant, les indemnités versées par la Confédération influencent dans une large mesure l’aide sociale octroyée aux requérants d’asile et aux personnes admises à titre provisoire. Les réfugiés reconnus ont accès à l’aide sociale au même titre que la population autochtone. Le cas échéant, ils obtiennent les prestations normalement versées à leur lieu de domicile.

En 2008, environ 70 % des requérants d’asile, des personnes admises à titre provisoire et des réfugiés reconnus ont été assistés par l’aide sociale. La même année, les dépenses de la Confédération pour indemniser les prestations d’aide sociale se sont élevées à quelque 299 millions de francs s’agissant des requérants d’asile et des personnes admises à titre provisoire et 64 millions de francs pour les réfugiés reconnus.

Chaque canton dispose d’un bureau de coordination en matière d’asile. Interlocuteur du Secrétariat d’Etat aux migrations (SEM), ce service assure également la coordination en matière d’aide sociale au sein du canton.


1) A ce jour, aucun groupe de migrants n’a obtenu une protection provisoire suite à l’introduction de ce statut lors de la révision totale de la loi sur l’asile en 1999.

vers le haut Dernière modification 13.09.2016