In-country support by the SEM

The State Secretariat for Migration (SEM) also strives to protect and defend the rights of migrants and refugees in their regions of origin and transit. This is why we support countries of first arrival and transit, such as those adjacent to Syria, in the Horn of Africa, and North Africa. Our objective is to improve living conditions for migrants and refugees (through protection, registration, supplies, etc.) and to help make the local asylum and migration systems more efficient. In doing so, we hope to take the pressure off migrants to continue the irregular and often perilous journey to Europe. North Africa is a key transit region for irregular migration to Europe. Apart from migrant-protection projects, the SEM also supports projects in this region for the voluntary return of migrants and for rescue operations at sea.

Ethiopia

Ethiopia: projects by the Norwegian Refugee Council (NRC)
enlarge_picture

Ethiopia’s “out-of-camp” policy enables Eritrean refugees to leave the refugee camps in Northern Ethiopia under certain conditions and move to Addis Abeba. The SEM is contributing a total of 1.05 million francs to a two-year project by the Norwegian Refugee Council (NRC). The NRC supports the out-of-camp policy by helping refugees build new and lasting livelihoods for themselves. A Resource Centre in Addis Ababa will serve as the central point of contact. Here, refugees will receive appropriate information and have access to a computer room and a library. Training courses are already being held on this site. The NRC discusses the refugees’ project proposals with them and disburses start-up grants for them to work on improving their own prospects. Funding is also available for particularly vulnerable refugees to cover their most urgent needs, such as medical care.

North Africa

North Africa: Project by the International Organization for Migration (IOM) to support voluntary return from Libya
enlarge_picture

Project by the International Organization for Migration (IOM) to support voluntary return from Libya

The SEM is eager to help improve the management of migration flows and set up measures to protect migrants in Libya. To this end, we worked with a number of prospective partners to identify potential projects in Libya, despite the country’s descent into chaos and the fact we have no permanent staff based there. Over a year, the SEM thus contributed 1.054 million dollars to support an IOM project in Libya for the assistance and voluntary return of migrants to their countries of origin (mainly sub-Saharan Africa). The project sought to help 440 vulnerable or detained migrants organise their return, i.e. obtaining travel documents from embassies, necessary medical attention before leaving, direct flights back or via Tunisia, cash allowance for the return trip, restoration of family contacts. A limited reinsertion support package (1,000 dollars, reception and advice in the country of origin) was available for 90 particularly vulnerable people. The IOM estimates that more than 5,000 migrants are being detained or are particularly vulnerable. Through its local staff and six partner associations in Libya, the IOM has access to certain places of detention and is regularly called upon – also by the embassies of Sub-Saharan African countries – to organise returns. In particular, the IOM’s cooperation with Libya’s Department for Combating Illegal Migration (DCIM), under the Interior Ministry, gives it access to detention centres and to vulnerable migrants. This project was completed at the end of August 2016.

Turkey

Turkey: Project by the UN Refugee Agency (UNHCR) to assist Turkish authorities in registering Syrian refugees
enlarge_picture

Project by the UN Refugee Agency (UNHCR) to assist Turkish authorities in registering Syrian refugees

Turkey has taken in more than 2.7 million Syrian refugees, most of whom are living outside of the official camps. Since 2013, Switzerland has supported a UNHCR project to protect and assist non-camp refugees in Turkey. The primary goal of this project is to improve the capacity of the Turkish authorities (Directorate General for Migration Management) to register Syrian refugees and to directly support the Syrian refugees living outside of official camps. If refugees can be registered quickly and efficiently, they can then access the state aid offered by Turkey in healthcare and education. Since being launched in 2013, the project has evolved in line with the authorities’ needs. In the first phase (2013-2014), the Turkish authorities received a mobile registration centre to improve the quality and speed of refugee registration. In the second phase (2014-2015), UNHCR assisted the authorities in setting up the GOC NET system, a database for refugees in Turkey. Now in its third phase, the project is helping the Turkish authorities to increase their registration capacity by way of UNHCR training and the provision of interpreters and digital scanners. Phase III has a budget of 1.4 million francs and will continue until April 2017.
   

Documentation

to the top Last modification 08.09.2017

Le SEM apporte aussi de l’aide sur place

Le Secrétariat d’État aux migrations (SEM) attache une grande importance à la protection des migrants et des réfugiés dans les régions de provenance et de transit. C’est pourquoi il offre son soutien aux pays de premier accueil et de transit, notamment dans les États voisins de la Syrie, les pays de la Corne de l’Afrique, de même que les États d’Afrique du Nord. L’objectif visé est d’améliorer les conditions de vie des migrants et des réfugiés (protection, enregistrement, approvisionnement de base, etc.) et d’organiser les systèmes nationaux de gestion de l’asile et de la migration de telle manière à les rendre plus efficaces. Les migrants seraient ainsi moins enclins à poursuivre leur voyage vers l’Europe dans l’illégalité et dans des conditions souvent dangereuses. L’Afrique du Nord constitue une région de transit importante pour la migration irrégulière à destination de l’Europe. En marge des projets menés dans le domaine de la protection, le SEM soutient aussi, dans cette partie du monde, des projets qui visent à favoriser le retour volontaire des migrants, de même qu’à assurer leur sauvetage en haute mer.

Éthiopie

Éthiopie: projets du «Norwegian Refugee Council» (NRC)
enlarge_picture

La politique, baptisée "Out-of-Camp policy", adoptée en Éthiopie permet dans certaines circonstances aux réfugiés érythréens de quitter les camps de réfugiés situés dans le nord de l’Éthiopie pour venir s’installer à Addis Abeba. Par une enveloppe budgétaire de 1,05 million de francs, le SEM finance un projet de deux ans mené par le "Norwegian Refugee Council" (NRC). Cet organe soutient la mise en œuvre de la politique évoquée plus haut en aidant les réfugiés à se bâtir une nouvelle existence à long terme. Un Ressource Center, actuellement en construction à Addis Abeba, servira de point de contact avec les réfugiés, qui pourront y obtenir des informations pertinentes et utiliser une salle d’informatique et une bibliothèque. Des cours de formation sont par ailleurs déjà dispensés sur ce site. Le NRC s’entretient avec les réfugiés au sujet de leurs propositions de projets et leur accorde une aide financière initiale. Grâce à cette aide, ils ont la possibilité d’agir en vue de façonner et d’améliorer leur avenir. En outre, les réfugiés particulièrement vulnérables reçoivent de l’argent afin de couvrir leurs besoins urgents, à l’instar d’une aide médicale.

Afrique du Nord

Afrique du Nord: Projet de l’Organisation internationale pour les migrations (OIM) d’aide au retour volontaire depuis la Libye
enlarge_picture

Projet de l’Organisation internationale pour les migrations (OIM) d’aide au retour volontaire depuis la Libye

Le SEM cherche à contribuer à une meilleure gestion des flux migratoires et à mettre en œuvre des mesures de protection à l’intention des migrants en Libye. Dans ce but, il a tenté d’identifier, avec les partenaires potentiels, des projets envisageables sur place, et ce, malgré la situation de chaos qui règne en Libye et l’absence de personnel expatrié permanent sur place. Le SEM a ainsi soutenu pendant une année un projet de l’OIM en Libye consacré à l’assistance et au rapatriement volontaire de migrants vers leur pays d’origine (principalement l’Afrique subsaharienne) à hauteur de 1,054 million de dollars. Le projet prévoit une assistance à 440 migrants vulnérables ou en détention pour l’organisation du retour : obtention des documents de voyages auprès des ambassades, soins médicaux nécessaires avant le départ, vol de retour direct ou en transit par la Tunisie, viatique pour le retour, rétablissement des liens familiaux. Pour 90 personnes particulièrement vulnérables, une aide à la réintégration limitée (1000 dollars, accueil et conseil dans le pays d’origine) est prévue. L’OIM estime que plus de 5000 migrants seraient en détention ou en situation de vulnérabilité. Par l’intermédiaire de son personnel local et de six associations partenaires sur place, l’OIM a accès à certains lieux de détention et est régulièrement sollicitée, et ce également par les ambassades des pays d’Afrique subsaharienne, pour l’organisation du retour. La coopération avec le "Department for Combatting Illegal Migration" (DCIM, Ministère de l’Intérieur) permet à l’OIM d’accéder aux lieux de détention et aux migrants vulnérables. Le projet s’est terminé fin août 2016.

Turquie

Turquie: Projet de l’Agence des Nations Unies (HCR) pour les réfugiés visant à soutenir les autorités turques dans l’enregistrement des réfugiés syriens
enlarge_picture

Projet de l’Agence des Nations Unies (HCR) pour les réfugiés visant à soutenir les autorités turques dans l’enregistrement des réfugiés syriens

La Turquie compte sur son territoire plus de 2,7 millions de réfugiés syriens qui séjournent, pour la grande majorité, hors des camps de cet État. Depuis 2013, la Suisse soutient le projet "Protection of and Assistance to Non-Camp Refugees in Turkey" mis en œuvre par le HCR. Ce projet vise en premier lieu à améliorer les capacités d’enregistrement des réfugiés syriens par les autorités turques compétentes (le "Directorate General for Migration Management"), tout en offrant un soutien direct aux réfugiés syriens séjournant hors des camps étatiques. L’enregistrement rapide et efficace des réfugiés permet à ces derniers d’accéder aux services offerts par l’État turc, notamment en matière de santé et d’éducation. Depuis ses débuts en 2013, le projet a évolué en fonction des besoins des autorités. Ainsi, lors de la première phase du projet (2013-2014), un centre mobile d’enregistrement a été fourni aux autorités turques afin d’améliorer la qualité et la rapidité de l’enregistrement des réfugiés. Lors de la deuxième phase (2014-2015), le HCR a assisté les autorités dans la mise en place du système GOC NET, la base de données des réfugiés enregistrés en Turquie. Entré dans sa troisième phase, le projet renforce aujourd’hui les capacités d’enregistrement des autorités turques par des formations dispensées par le HCR et la mise à disposition d’interprètes et de "scanners" digitaux. La phase III dotée d’un budget de 1,4 million de francs s’étendra jusqu’en avril 2017.

Documentation

vers le haut Dernière modification 08.09.2017