Multilateral cooperation

Keywords: Immigration

Migration is no longer viewed from a purely unilateral or bilateral perspective. It is, in fact, a global phenomenon creating links between countries of origin, transit and destination. The countries concerned and international organisations thus have an interest in joining forces so as to enhance multilateral cooperation on migration issues.

International organisations

Numerous international organisations deal with matters related to migration. Since 2007, these have been grouped together within the Global Migration Group (GMG). The key partners of the State Secretariat for Migration (SEM) are the International Organization for Migration (IOM) and the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR).

Switzerland’s involvement

At a multilateral level, Switzerland is heavily involved in international dialogues on migration. Moreover, Switzerland closely follows regional migration dialogues, whereby it can develop measures to meet the specific needs of a given region.

Documentation

to the top Last modification 25.07.2016

Coopération multilatérale

Mots-clés: Immigration

La migration n’est plus uniquement appréhendée dans une perspective purement unilatérale ou bilatérale. Il s’agit en effet d’un phénomène global établissant des liens entre les pays d’origine, de transit et de destination. Les Etats concernés et les organisations internationales ont ainsi intérêt à s’associer dans le cadre d’une coopération multilatérale portant sur les questions migratoires.

Organisations internationales

De nombreuses organisations internationales s’occupent des questions de migration. Depuis 2007, elles sont regroupées dans le Groupe mondial sur la migration (GMG). Les principaux partenaires du Secrétariat d’Etat aux migrations (SEM) sont l’Organisation internationale pour les migrations (OIM) et le Haut Commissariat des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés (HCR).

Engagement de la Suisse

Au niveau multilatéral, la Suisse est fortement impliquée au sein des dialogues internationaux sur la migration. En outre, elle suit de près le développement des dialogues migratoires régionaux permettant de développer des mesures répondant aux besoins spécifiques d’une région donnée.

Documentation

vers le haut Dernière modification 25.07.2016