Protection in the Region

The vast majority of refugees worldwide live in Africa, Latin America, Asia and the Middle East, i.e. often in developing countries that do not have sufficient resources to accept large numbers of refugees and offer them real protection. Many refugees and other migrants in need of protection are thus forced to move on to other countries and regions. Given this situation, Switzerland decided to launch specific programmes for improving the protection of refugees and migrants in their regions of origin. These programmes form part of the "Protection in the Region" (PiR) initiative, which was adopted by the Plenum of the Interdepartmental Task Force on Migration in 2007.

Objectives

Swiss involvement in PiR seeks to ensure prompt and effective protection for refugees in their regions of origin and to assist countries of first refuge in giving such persons the protection they need. This should help to reduce onward irregular migration, which often places migrants in serious danger, and may thus lead to fewer asylum applications in Switzerland.

Content

Efforts to achieve these goals include supporting national authorities in developing a fair and efficient asylum procedure and improving the living conditions of refugees. There are also plans to find sustainable solutions, such as facilitated voluntary return to the home country, promoting sustainable local integration, and resettlement of refugee groups (currently Syrians) in third countries.

Implementation

The "Protection in the Region" programme will now be implemented in two regions. The PiR programme in the Horn of Africa and Yemen is an important element of the migration component of Switzerland’s Horn of Africa strategy for 2013-2016. Due to the crisis in Syria, a second PiR programme is now being implemented in Jordan, Lebanon, Turkey and Syria.

Whole-of-government approach

The design and implementation of the Swiss PiR concept is based on a whole-of-government approach, i.e. inter-departmental coordination and cooperation within the Swiss Confederation.

The main agencies involved are the State Secretariat for Migration as well as the Directorate of Political Affairs (Human Security Division) and the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation of the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs.

Documentation

Horn of Africa

Middle East

to the top Last modification 25.07.2016

Protection dans la région

La grande majorité des réfugiés à travers le monde se trouvent en Afrique, en Amérique latine, en Asie ainsi qu’au Proche-Orient et au Moyen-Orient, souvent dans les pays en voie de développement, dont les capacités sont insuffisantes pour accueillir un grand nombre de réfugiés et leur accorder une protection efficace. Un grand nombre de réfugiés et de personnes à protéger sont ainsi contraints de gagner des régions ou des pays d’accueil. Face à cette réalité, la Suisse a décidé de lancer des programmes de protection des migrants dans sur place. Ces programmes font partie du programme "Protection in the Region" (PiR) adopté en 2007 par le plénum du groupe de travail interdépartemental Migration.

Objectifs

L’engagement de la Suisse à travers cet outil de politique extérieure doit contribuer à trouver une aide efficace et rapide en faveur des réfugiés dans leurs régions de provenance. Il s’agit dès lors de soutenir les pays de premier accueil afin qu’ils garantissent à ces personnes la protection nécessaire. Le but est de freiner la migration irrégulière, au cours de laquelle les migrants sont exposés à des risques importants, et de réduire le nombre de demandes d’asile déposées en Suisse.

Mesures

Différentes mesures sont prévues pour atteindre ces objectifs : il s’agit par exemple de soutenir les autorités nationales dans la mise en place d’une procédure d’asile efficace et équitable en vue d’améliorer les conditions de vie des réfugiés. L’accent est aussi mis sur la recherche de solutions durables : retour volontaire facilité dans le pays d’origine, encouragement d’une intégration durable dans le pays de premier accueil et accueil de groupes de réfugiés dans des Etats tiers (réinstallation ; actuellement en faveur de la Syrie).

Mise en œuvre

Le programme de protection dans la région est actuellement mis en œuvre dans deux régions : dans la Corne de l’Afrique et au Yémen, où il constitue un pilier important de la stratégie 2013-2016 de la Suisse pour la Corne de l’Afrique, et en Jordanie, au Liban, en Turquie et en Syrie, dans le contexte du conflit syrien.

Stratégie pangouvernementale

La mise au point ainsi que la concrétisation du modèle suisse de la protection dans la région se fonde sur une stratégie pangouvernementale, c’est-à-dire sur une coordination et une coopération interdépartementales associant toutes les unités de l’administration fédérale concernées par la politique migratoire (whole-of-government approach).

Les acteurs engagés dans cette démarche sont, notamment, le Secrétariat d’Etat aux migrations, de même que la Direction politique (Division Sécurité humaine) et la Direction du développement et de la coopération du Département fédéral des affaires étrangères (DFAE).

Documentation

Corne de l’Afrique

Moyen-Orient

vers le haut Dernière modification 25.07.2016