Migration policy

Swiss migration policy is expected to come to terms with a wide range of diverse issues: it deals with a Portuguese construction worker as well as with a family of Kurdish refugees, with a top manageress from Germany as well as with second-generation foreign nationals born in this country – and, unfortunately, also with foreign drug dealers and illegal residents.

Swiss migration policy pursues three aims

  • A good migration policy grants protection to people who are really persecuted, as befits Switzerland’s humanitarian tradition. People who must escape from war, persecution and torture should be able to find refuge here. However, by no means all those who apply for asylum are recognised as refugees or are provisionally admitted. Rejected asylum-seekers must leave this country again, and their return should be supported.
  • A good migration policy aims at a situation whereby both natives and immigrants feel safe in Switzerland. This is why everyone must accept our fundamental rules of living together. Often – but unfortunately not always – immigrants succeed in becoming integrated. We pay particular attention to the fight against crime, abuse and racism.
  • A good migration policy safeguards and advances this country’s prosperity. For this purpose, we need employees from other countries. Without these, many industries such as construction, tourism and health care, as well as Switzerland overall as a financial centre and a workplace, would be unable to preserve their current level of prosperity. It is for this reason that we depend on controlled immigration.

to the top Last modification 24.11.2014

Politique migratoire

La politique migratoire suisse est extrêmement vaste. Elle touche aussi bien le travailleur portugais de la construction, la famille de réfugiés kurde, la cadre supérieure allemande, les secondos nés en Suisse que les revendeurs de stupéfiants ou les clandestins.

La politique migratoire suisse s’articule autour de trois axes:

  • La prospérité de notre pays. A cette fin, nous avons besoin de la main-d’œuvre étrangère. Sans elle, nombre de branches économiques – la construction, le tourisme, le domaine de la santé, la place financière et industrielle – ne pourraient maintenir leur niveau actuel. C’est pourquoi la Suisse est tributaire d’une immigration contrôlée.
  • La protection des victimes de persécutions, comme le veut la tradition humanitaire de notre pays, qui se doit d’accueillir quiconque est forcé de fuir la guerre ou la torture. Cependant, toutes les personnes ayant déposé une demande d’asile ne sont pas reconnues en tant que réfugiés, ni admises au titre de l’admission provisoire. Les requérants d’asile déboutés sont tenus de quitter notre pays, mais leur retour doit être favorisé.
  • La sécurité des Suisses et des immigrés. A cet effet, chacun est appelé à observer les principes favorisant la coexistence pacifique. L’intégration des immigrés réussit fréquemment mais hélas pas toujours. Il convient de rester vigilants face à la criminalité, aux abus et au racisme. Les collaborateurs de l’Office fédéral des migrations déploient des efforts quotidiens pour atteindre ces objectifs. La présente brochure vous renseignera sur le travail accompli dans notre office et vous indiquera à qui vous pouvez adresser vos questions.

vers le haut Dernière modification 24.11.2014