Migration matters


Adessa Abraham writes history for the Swiss athletics team


Eritrea Country Focus

In June 2015, the European Asylum Support Office (EASO) published a new report on the current situation in Eritrea. The report was compiled by a country expert from the State Secretariat for Migration (SEM) and approved by international experts. In June 2016, the SEM published an update of several chapters of the report "Eritrea Country Focus".




Asylum Applications

Switzerland is pursuing a clear objective with its asylum policy. Individuals who are in need of protection should be granted this protection in Switzerland; individuals who have no need of protection should leave Switzerland as quickly as possible.

In order to handle the flow of incoming asylum applications efficiently, the State Secretariat for Migration (SEM) operates according to the following principles: clearly unjustified asylum applications are handled as a priority, hence accelerated processing is used for asylum seekers from specific countries; for failed asylum applications, applicants are consistently removed from Switzerland. Switzerland also legally enforces the Dublin Agreement. According to this agreement, asylum seekers for whom Switzerland is not the country with the authority to process the asylum application will be returned to the respective responsible European country. The objective of the SEM is to keep the number of clearly unjustified asylum applications as low as possible.

Principles in the Handling of Asylum Applications



Information for schools

(Most information in German)