Asylum statistics for 2023

In 2023, 30,223 asylum requests were submitted in Switzerland, 5712 more than in the previous year (+23.3 %). In its most likely scenario for 2024, the State Secretariat for Migration again expects around 30,000 (+/- 3,000) new asylum requests.

Naturalisation self-check

If you do not hold a Swiss passport but are married to a Swiss national, or if your grandparents immigrated to Switzerland, simplified naturalisation could be an option for you. Complete the naturalisation self-check and find out in just a few clicks if you meet the criteria.

Ucraina – Україна – Украина

Information for refugees from Ukraine – Інформація для біженців з України – Информация для беженцев из Украины.

The app to help you integrate

Integrating in a country is a lengthy process. So, to help you along the way, we’ve compiled a lot of useful information on life in Switzerland for those new to the country. It’s all here in this app. Welcome to Switzerland!


Female asylum seekers from Afghanistan can now be considered victims of both discriminatory legislation and religiously motivated persecution, and refugee status must be granted to them.

News and social media

Press releases and links to our social media profiles.


Annual Report, statistics and further publications.

SEM introduces itself

Information on SEM’s structure and activities.

Information for schools

(Most information in German)

Latest news