EU/EFTA Citizens: Living and Working in Switzerland

EU/EFTA
enlarge_picture EU/EFTA

Are you planning to work in Switzerland, to join your spouse or family or to study at a Swiss university?

The conditions applicable for residence in Switzerland are dependent on both your nationality as well as on the reason for your stay.

From 1 June 2016, the same conditions apply to all citizens of member states of the EU-27/EFTA, i.e. citizens of the EU-25/EFTA (EU-17/EFTA plus EU-8) and citizens of Bulgaria and Romania (EU-2).

However, the Federal Council decided to invoke the safeguard clause as per 1 June 2017. In application of the safeguard clause, category B EU/EFTA residence permits granted to citizens of the EU-2 will be subject to quotas during one year. This measure applies to citizens from Bulgaria and Romania who possess an employment contract in Switzerland that is valid for more than a year (or unlimited duration) as well as for self-employed persons.

Since 1 January 2017, Croatian nationals benefit from the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons. However, transitory provisions apply.

You will find the documents relevant to your stay in the table below (according to your nationality).

EU-28/EFTA

Countries of the EU-28/EFTA

Austria   Finland   Latvia   Portugal  
Belgium   France   Liechtenstein   Romania  
Bulgaria   Germany   Lithuania   Slovakia  
Croatia   Greece   Luxemburg   Slovenia  
Czech Republic   Hungary   Malta   Spain  
Cyprus   Iceland   Netherlands   Schweden  
Denmark   Ireland   Norway   United Kingdom  
Estonia   Italy   Poland    

Documentation

EU-27/EFTA

Countries of the EU-27/EFTA

Austria   France   Liechtenstein   Romania  
Belgium   Germany   Lithuania   Slovakia  
Bulgaria   Greece   Luxemburg   Slovenia  
Czech Republic   Hungary   Malta   Spain  
Cyprus   Iceland   Netherlands   Schweden  
Denmark   Ireland   Norway   United Kingdom  
Estonia   Italy   Poland    
Finland   Latvia   Portugal    

Documentation

EU-17/EFTA

EU-17/EFTA citizens have full rights to freedom of movement since 1 June 2007.

Countries of the EU-17/EFTA

Austria   France   Italy   Norway  
Belgium   Germany   Liechtenstein   Portugal  
Cyprus   Greece   Luxemburg   Sweden  
Denmark   Iceland   Malta   Spain  
Finland   Ireland   Netherlands   United Kingdom  

Documentation

EU-8

EU-8 citizens have full rights to freedom of movement since 1 May 2011.

Countries of the EU-8

Czech Republic   Latvia   Poland   Slovenia  
Estonia   Lithuania   Slovakia   Hungary  

Documentation

Bulgaria and Romania (EU-2)

Bulgaria and Romania (EU-2)

The Federal Council decided to invoke the safeguard clause provided for in the Agreement between Switzerland and the EU on the free movement of persons, applying it to the EU-2 Member States. From 1 June 2017, category B EU/EFTA residence permits granted to citizens from Bulgaria and Romania are subject to quotas. There are 996 residence permits B EU/EFTA available. This measure is in force for a year.

This measure applies to citizens from EU-2 countries who wish to take up an employment in Switzerland with a work contract whose duration is longer than one year or unlimited. The same applies to self-employed persons who wish to settle in Switzerland.

For the provision of services, the same conditions apply to all citizens of member states of the EU-27/EFTA from 1 June 2016. Further information can be found here: Registration procedure

Self-employed Bulgarians and Romanians in Switzerland have been subject to the same conditions as EU-25/EFTA nationals since 1 June 2011. Applicants must provide the cantonal authorities with proof of their self-employment in Switzerland (start-up capital, business plan etc.). Self-employed EU-27/EFTA citizens may not take up a self-employed activity until their application has been processed and a residence permit has been issued.)

When staying in Switzerland without gainful activity (students, pensioners, etc.) and in matters of family reunion, citizens of all EU-27 and EFTA states enjoy the same rights.

Documentation

Croatia

Croatia

Croatia joined the European Union (EU) on 1 July 2013. Each time a new member joins the EU, the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons (AFMP) is supplemented by an additional protocol. The extension of the AFMP to Croatia was negotiated in protocol III, which provides full free movement of persons for Croatian nationals following a ten-year transitional period.

In the light of the popular initiative aimed at stopping mass immigration and the adoption of the constitutional provisions on immigration (Art. 121a Cst) on 9 February 2014, protocol III had not been signed immediately. However, Switzerland applied separate quotas for Croatian nationals from 1 July 2014 to 31 December 2016. Their access to the Swiss labour market remained subject to the provisions of the Foreign Nationals Act.

On 17 June 2016, the Swiss Parliament approved protocol III and authorized the Federal Council to ratify it once an agreement to control immigration is reached with the EU that is compatible with the Swiss legal system. This condition had been fulfilled when the Parliament passed the act implementing Article 121a of the Federal Constitution on 16 December 2016. With the ratification of protocol III on 16 December 2016, the AFMP has been extended to Croatia. Due to this ratification, Switzerland is fully associated to the Horizon 2020 research programme since 1 January 2017.

On 1 January 2017, protocol III came into force. During the first implementation period, special transitory measures with quotas and restrictions regarding the access to the labour market (priority clause for local workers as well as control of wages and work conditions) are applied on Croatian nationals. These measures can be extended after a first two-year period.

More detailed information regarding the admission of Croatian nationals is provided in the factsheet "Croatia”.

Documentation

Permits

The cantons are competent for issuing permits. For detailed information on the application procedure (where to apply, which form to fill out, how long it will take, etc.), please contact the competent cantonal authorities:

to the top Last modification 29.05.2017

EU/EFTA-Bürgerinnen und -Bürger: Leben und Arbeiten in der Schweiz

EU/EFTA
enlarge_picture EU/EFTA

Sie planen, in der Schweiz zu arbeiten, zu Ihrem Ehegatten oder Ihrer Familie zu ziehen oder möchten an einer Schweizer Universität studieren?

Welche Voraussetzungen für einen Aufenthalt erfüllt sein müssen, richtet sich sowohl nach der Staatsangehörigkeit als auch nach dem Grund des Aufenthalts.

Seit dem 1. Juni 2016 gelten für alle Bürgerinnen und Bürger der EU-27/EFTA-Staaten, das heisst für die EU-25/EFTA (EU-17/EFTA und die EU-8) sowie die Staatsangehörigen der EU-2 (Bulgarien und Rumänien), die gleichen Bedingungen.

In Bezug auf erwerbstätige Staatsangehörige von Bulgarien und Rumänien hat der Bundesrat per 1. Juni 2017 die Ventilklausel angerufen. Dies führt dazu, dass die Kontingentierung der Aufenthaltsbewilligungen B EU/EFTA für Staatsangehörige der EU-2 während einem Jahr wieder eingeführt wird. Betroffen davon sind Staatsangehörige der EU-2, die in der Schweiz mit einem überjährigen oder unbefristeten Arbeitsvertrag eine Stelle antreten möchten sowie selbständig Erwerbende.

Kroatische Staatsangehörige profitieren seit dem 1. Januar 2017 ebenfalls vom FZA. Für sie gelten jedoch Übergangsbestimmungen.

Sie finden die für Sie wichtigen Dokumente in der unten aufgeführten Tabelle (nach Staatsangehörigkeit).

EU-28/EFTA

Länder der EU-28/EFTA

Belgien   Irland   Malta   Schweden  
Bulgarien   Island   Niederlande   Slowakei  
Dänemark   Italien   Norwegen    Slowenien  
Deutschland   Kroatien   Österreich   Spanien  
Estland   Lettland   Polen   Ungarn  
Finnland   Liechtenstein   Portugal   Vereinigtes Königreich  
Frankreich   Litauen   Republik Tschechien   Zypern  
Griechenland   Luxemburg   Rumänien    

Dokumentation

EU-27/EFTA

Länder der EU-27/EFTA

Belgien   Irland   Niederlande   Slowakei  
Bulgarien   Island   Norwegen   Slowenien  
Dänemark   Italien   Österreich   Spanien  
Deutschland   Lettland   Polen   Ungarn  
Estland   Liechtenstein   Portugal   Vereinigtes Königreich  
Finnland   Litauen   Republik Tschechien   Zypern  
Frankreich   Luxemburg   Rumänien    
Griechenland   Malta   Schweden    

Dokumentation

EU-17/EFTA

Für Bürgerinnen und Bürger der EU-17/EFTA gilt seit dem 1. Juni 2007 die volle Personenfreizügigkeit.

Länder der EU-17/EFTA

Belgien   Griechenland   Luxemburg   Portugal  
Dänemark   Irland   Malta   Schweden  
Deutschland   Island   Niederlande   Spanien  
Finnland   Italien   Norwegen   Vereinigtes Königreich  
Frankreich   Liechtenstein   Österreich   Zypern  

Dokumentation

EU-8

Seit dem 1. Mai 2011 gilt für die EU-8 die volle Personenfreizügigkeit.

Länder der EU-8

Estland   Litauen   Republik Tschechien   Slowenien  
Lettland   Polen   Slowakei   Ungarn  

Dokumentation

Bulgarien/Rumänien (EU-2)

Bulgarien und Rumänien (EU-2)

Der Bundesrat hat beschlossen, die im Freizügigkeitsabkommen vorgesehene Ventilklausel gegenüber Staatsangehörigen der EU-2 in Anspruch zu nehmen. Per 1. Juni 2017 wurde deshalb die Kontingentierung der Bewilligungen B EU/EFTA (Aufenthaltsbewilligungen von fünf Jahren Dauer) für Staatsangehörige von Bulgarien und Rumänien wieder eingeführt. Es stehen 996 Aufenthaltsbewilligungen B EU/EFTA zur Verfügung. Die Kontingentierung gilt während eines Jahres.

Davon betroffen sind Personen, die mit überjährigem oder unbefristetem Arbeitsvertrag in der Schweiz eine Stelle antreten wollen. Dasselbe gilt für selbstständig Erwerbende, die sich in der Schweiz niederlassen möchten. Mehr Informationen dazu finden Sie im Rundschreiben vom 10. Mai 2017 sowie in den Weisungen zur Verordnung über die Einführung des freien Personenverkehrs (VEP).

Für die Erbringung von Dienstleistungen gelten für alle EU-27/EFTA-Staatsangehörigen seit dem 1. Juni 2016 die gleichen Bestimmungen. Weitere Informationen dazu finden Sie hier: Meldeverfahren  

Für selbstständigerwerbende EU-2-Staatsangehörige in der Schweiz gelten bereits seit dem 1. Juni 2011 die gleichen Voraussetzungen wie für EU-25/EFTA-Bürgerinnen und Bürger. Gesuchsteller müssen den kantonalen Behörden bestätigen können, dass sie in der Schweiz effektiv eine selbstständige Erwerbstätigkeit ausführen werden (Startkapital, evtl. Handelsregistereintrag usw. etc.). Die selbstständige Erwerbstätigkeit darf erst nach erfolgreicher Gesuchsprüfung (Bewilligungserteilung) aufgenommen werden.

Beim Aufenthalt ohne Erwerbstätigkeit (Rentnerinnen und Rentner, Studierende usw.) und beim Familiennachzug gelten seit 2009 für Bürgerinnen und Bürger aller EU-27/EFTA-Staaten die gleichen Bedingungen.

Kroatien

Kroatien

Am 1. Juli 2013 ist Kroatien der Europäischen Union (EU) beigetreten. Bei jeder Erweiterung der EU muss das Freizügigkeitsabkommen (FZA) zuerst angepasst werden (zusätzliches Protokoll). Die Erweiterung des FZA auf Kroatien wurde im Protokoll III ausgehandelt. Dieses sieht nach einem 10-jährigen Übergangsregime die volle Freizügigkeit mit Kroatien vor.

Vor dem Hintergrund der Abstimmung vom 9. Februar 2014 und der Annahme von Art. 121a BV über die Zuwanderungssteuerung wurde vorerst auf eine Unterzeichnung des Protokolls III verzichtet. Kroatischen Staatsangehörigen gewährte die Schweiz deshalb vom 1. Juli 2014 bis am 31. Dezember 2016 separate Kontingente; die Zulassung zum Schweizer Arbeitsmarkt erfolgte weiterhin im Rahmen des Ausländergesetzes (AuG).

Am 17. Juni 2016 hat das Schweizer Parlament das Protokoll III genehmigt und den Bundesrat ermächtigt, dieses zu ratifizieren, wenn mit der EU eine mit der schweizerischen Rechtsordnung vereinbare Regelung zur Steuerung der Zuwanderung besteht. Mit der am 16. Dezember 2016 vom Parlament beschlossenen Umsetzung von 121a BV war die Bedingung für die Ratifizierung von Protokoll III erfüllt. Die am 16. Dezember 2016 erfolgte Ratifizierung des Protokolls III hat zur Folge, dass das Abkommen auf Kroatien ausgedehnt wurde. Als Folge dieser Ratifizierung ist die Schweiz zudem ab dem 1. Januar 2017 wieder vollständig an das Forschungsrahmenabkommen Horizon 2020 assoziiert.

Das Protokoll III trat am 1. Januar 2017 in Kraft. Während der ersten Umsetzungsphase gelten gegenüber kroatischen Staatsangehörigen besondere Übergangsbestimmungen mit arbeitsmarktrechtlichen Beschränkungen (Inländervorrang und Kontrolle der Lohn- und Arbeitsbedingungen) und Höchstzahlen. Diese Beschränkungen können nach Ablauf von zwei Jahren verlängert werden.

Weitere Informationen zu den Zulassungsbestimmungen für kroatische Staatsangehörige entnehmen Sie dem Factsheet "Kroatien".

Bewilligungen

Zuständig für das Ausstellen der Bewilligungen sind die Kantone. Für Fragen zu den genauen Formalitäten der Bewilligungserteilung (wo genau beantragen, welches Formular ausfüllen, wie lange dauert es etc.) wenden Sie sich bitte an die zuständigen kantonalen Behörden. Die entsprechenden Adressen finden Sie hier:

nach oben Letzte Änderung 29.05.2017