Eurodac

Eurodac is the central fingerprint database of the European Union for asylum matters. It has been operating since 15 January 2003 and was set up in order to register asylum applicants and thus apply the Dublin Regulation effectively.

All asylum applicants who are at least 14 years old and are not citizens of a Dublin member state are registered in Eurodac. It also contains details of persons who are caught illegally crossing the borders of the Dublin Area and are not turned back. Eurodac may also be used to check persons who are illegally present in a Dublin member state.

The Eurodac system was specially developed to make it easier to determine which member state is responsible for a given asylum seeker. Europe’s central Automated Fingerprint Identification System (AFIS) comprises a central unit at the European Commission in Luxembourg, an electronic database and a transfer system between the Dublin member states.

to the top Last modification 01.03.2019

Eurodac

Eurodac ist die zentrale Fingerabdruckdatenbank der Europäischen Union in Asylangelegenheiten. Sie ist seit dem 15. Januar 2003 in Betrieb und wurde errichtet, um asylsuchende Personen registrieren und damit die Dublin Verordnung effektiv anwenden zu können.

In Eurodac gespeichert werden alle Asylgesuchsteller, welche das 14. Altersjahr erreicht haben und nicht über die Staatsangehörigkeit eines Dublin Staates verfügen. Ebenso gespeichert werden Personen, die beim illegalen Überscheiten der Grenze des Dublin Raums aufgegriffen und nicht zurückgewiesen werden. Ferner können Personen mit illegalem Aufenthalt in einem Dublin Mitgliedstaat in Eurodac überprüft werden.

Das System Eurodac wurde speziell entwickelt, um die Bestimmung des zuständigen Mitgliedstaats zu erleichtern. Das zentrale europäische automatisierte Fingerabdruck- und Identifizierungs-System (AFIS) umfasst die bei der Europäischen Kommission in Luxemburg angesiedelte Zentraleinheit, eine informatikunterstützte Datenbank sowie eine Übermittlungseinrichtung zwischen den Mitgliedstaaten.

nach oben Letzte Änderung 01.03.2019