Eurodac

Eurodac is the central fingerprint database of the European Union for asylum matters. It has been operating since 15 January 2003 and was set up in order to register asylum applicants and thus apply the Dublin Regulation effectively.

All asylum applicants who are at least 14 years old and are not citizens of a Dublin member state are registered in Eurodac. It also contains details of persons who are caught illegally crossing the borders of the Dublin Area and are not turned back. Eurodac may also be used to check persons who are illegally present in a Dublin member state.

The Eurodac system was specially developed to make it easier to determine which member state is responsible for a given asylum seeker. Europe’s central Automated Fingerprint Identification System (AFIS) comprises a central unit at the European Commission in Luxembourg, an electronic database and a transfer system between the Dublin member states.

to the top Last modification 01.03.2019

Eurodac

Eurodac est la base de données centrale de l’Union européenne où sont collectées les empreintes digitales des personnes relevant de la législation sur l’asile. Opérationnelle depuis le 15 janvier 2003, elle a été conçue pour enregistrer les requérants d’asile et, ainsi, appliquer efficacement le règlement Dublin.

Sont enregistrés dans Eurodac les requérants d’asile âgés de plus de 14 ans qui ne possèdent pas la nationalité d’un État Dublin et les personnes qui ont été appréhendées à l'occasion du franchissement irrégulier d’une frontière extérieure de l’espace Dublin mais n’ont pas été renvoyées. Les étrangers se trouvant illégalement sur le territoire d’un État Dublin peuvent également faire l’objet d’une vérification dans Eurodac.

Le système Eurodac a été spécialement conçu pour faciliter l’identification de l’État membre compétent. Automatique et centralisé, le système européen d’identification des empreintes digitales, abrégé AFIS, comprend une unité centrale située dans les locaux de la Commission européenne à Luxembourg, une base de données informatisée et un système de communication entre les États membres.

vers le haut Dernière modification 01.03.2019