Asylum / Protection from persecution

Keywords: Asylum

A woman wearing a headscarf stands looking out of the window in the federal asylum centre in Embrach.
enlarge_picture A Syrian woman waits in the federal asylum centre in Embrach (Canton of Zurich) for her asylum decision. (photo: SEM © Gerry Amstutz)

Millions of people around the world are forced to leave their homes and apply for asylum in another country. Some face persecution by their own country’s authorities because of their political views or religious faith, while others flee a civil war or leave their homes because of the catastrophic economic conditions. Switzerland is one of the countries they choose to flee to. It grants asylum to persecuted people and affords temporary protection to those who require it.

Humanitarian Tradition

The Convention Relating to the Status of Refugees was approved on 28 July 1951 by the UN member states at a special conference in Geneva. Previously there had been no international binding agreement on refugees. However, even before this date Switzerland had been providing protection to people persecuted for their religious and political views for centuries.

Further information on the humanitarian tradition

Definition of refugee

Swiss asylum law defines who may be recognised as a refugee, on the basis of the terms of the Geneva Refugee Convention. According to these legal principles, refugees are persons who are exposed to serious disadvantages in their home country on account of their race, religion, nationality, political opinion or membership of a particular social group. A person can therefore only be classed as a refugee if they:

  • are currently exposed to serious disadvantages or have a well-founded fear of being so in the near future
  • is being persecuted for a specific reason
  • does not receive the protection of their own country,
  • is unable to find refuge in their own country.

Asylum procedure

The State Secretariat for Migration carefully considers each individual asylum application. The process has been greatly speeded up following the latest amendment to the Asylum Act, which came into effect on 1 March 2019. Switzerland is now divided into six asylum regions in which asylum seekers are registered, their asylum applications checked and most asylum procedures completed.

The Swiss authorities have applied the Dublin Agreement since the 12 December 2008. This association agreement defines the competences of the individual member states with regard to the asylum procedure. The first country in which an asylum request is submitted is responsible for dealing with the asylum request.

Social assistance

The public social assistance authorities provide support to destitute asylum seekers, provisionally admitted persons and persons with refugee status.

Further information

Links

to the top Last modification 01.03.2019

Asile / Protection contre la persécution

Mots-clés: Asile

Au centre fédéral pour requérants d’asile d’Embrach, une femme portant le voile regarde par la fenêtre.
enlarge_picture Une Syrienne attend une décision d’asile au centre fédéral pour requérants d’asile d’Embrach. (photo: SEM © Gerry Amstutz)

Partout dans le monde, des millions d’êtres humains se voient forcés de quitter leur État d’origine et de demander l’asile dans un autre pays. Certains sont persécutés par les autorités de leur pays en raison de leurs opinions politiques ou de leurs croyances ; d’autres subissent les conséquences d’une guerre civile. La Suisse fait partie des pays de destination de ces personnes. Elle accorde l’asile aux victimes de persécutions et la protection provisoire aux personnes à protéger.

Tradition humanitaire

C’est lors d’une conférence extraordinaire des Nations unies organisée à Genève que les États membres ont adopté la Convention relative au statut des réfugiés, le 28 juillet 1951. Avant cette convention, le droit des réfugiés n’était soumis à aucune réglementation internationale impérative. Toutefois, il y a déjà plusieurs siècles que la Suisse accorde une protection aux personnes persécutées pour des motifs religieux ou politiques.

En savoir plus sur la tradition humanitaire

Le statut de réfugié

La loi suisse sur l’asile définit qui est reconnu comme réfugié ; à cet égard, elle se fonde sur la Convention relative au statut des réfugiés. En vertu de ces bases juridiques, sont des réfugiés les personnes qui, dans leur État d’origine, sont exposées à de sérieux préjudices en raison de leur race, de leur religion, de leur nationalité, de leur appartenance à un groupe social déterminé ou de leurs opinions politiques. Ce statut n’est donc applicable qu’aux personnes :

  • qui sont actuellement exposées à de sérieux préjudices ou dont il est fort probable qu’elles le soient dans un avenir proche,
  • qui font l’objet de persécutions ciblées pour d’un des motifs ci-dessus,
  • que leur État d’origine ne protège pas et
  • qui ne peuvent trouver refuge à l’intérieur de leur pays.

Procédure d’asile

Le Secrétariat d’État aux migrations examine soigneusement et individuellement chaque demande d’asile. Entrée en vigueur le 1er mars 2019, la dernière modification de la loi sur l’asile permet d’accélérer considérablement les procédures d’asile. Dans ce domaine, la Suisse est désormais divisée en six régions dans lesquelles les requérants d’asile sont enregistrés, les demandes d’asile examinées et la plupart des procédures d’asile menées jusqu’à leur terme.

La Suisse applique également la procédure Dublin depuis le 12 décembre 2008. L’accord d’association à Dublin définit quel État est chargé de traiter une demande d’asile. En l’occurrence, cette responsabilité incombe à l’État dans lequel la première demande a été déposée.

Aide sociale

Les requérants d’asile, les personnes admises à titre provisoire et les réfugiés qui ne peuvent subvenir à leur entretien reçoivent de l’aide sociale publique l’assistance nécessaire.

Infos complémentaires

Links

vers le haut Dernière modification 01.03.2019