Dublin Regulation

A male asylum seeker is photographed.
enlarge_picture Asylum seekers are registered and their data compared with Eurodac so that they do not undergo the asylum procedure in more than one Dublin member state. (photo: SEM © Tomas Wüthrich)

The aim of the Dublin Regulation is to ensure that only one Dublin member state examines an asylum seeker’s asylum application. It does not impose one asylum procedure for the whole of the Dublin Area; it simply deterimines which member state is responsible for conducting this process. Once this has been established, the member state in question applies its own national law.

The Dublin association agreement adopted by Switzerland on 12 December 2008. The Dublin Area now comprises 32 members states: the 28 states of the European Union and the four associated states Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Switzerland.

Since joining the Dublin association agreement, Switzerland has transferred many more persons to other member states than it itself has received – at a ratio of approx. 4.5 to 1.

The Dublin Procedure only applies to citizens of third countries, i.e. persons who are not nationals of Dublin members states. If someone from a Dublin member state applies for asylum in Switzerland, the Dublin Procedure does not apply; instead, bilateral readmission agreements usually apply.

Under the Dublin Procedure, asylum seekers are fingerprinted and their data stored in the Eurodac central fingerprint database. This data is compared to prevent the same person from going through the asylum procedure in more than one Dublin member state.

to the top Last modification 01.03.2019

Le règlement Dublin

Un requérant d’asile se fait photographier.
enlarge_picture L’enregistrement des requérants d’asile et la comparaison de leurs empreintes digitales avec celles qui figurent dans Eurodac empêchent les personnes de présenter une demande d’asile dans plusieurs États Dublin. (photo: SEM © Tomas Wüthrich)

Le but du règlement Dublin est qu’un seul État Dublin soit amené à examiner la demande d’asile d’un requérant. La procédure Dublin n’harmonise pas les procédures d’asile dans l’espace Dublin, mais détermine l’État responsable de l’exécution des différentes procédures d’asile. Une fois établie la responsabilité d’une demande d’asile, la législation nationale de l’État Dublin concerné est applicable.

En Suisse, l’accord d’association à Dublin a été mis en œuvre le 12 décembre 2008. Depuis lors, l’espace Dublin comprend 32 États, à savoir les 28 États de l’Union Européenne et quatre États associés, la Norvège, l’Islande, le Liechtenstein et la Suisse.

Depuis son adhésion à l’accord d’association à Dublin, la Suisse a pu transférer beaucoup plus de personnes vers d’autres États Dublin qu’elle n’a dû en prendre elle-même en charge (le rapport est d’environ 4,5 pour 1).

La procédure Dublin s’applique aux seuls ressortissants d’États tiers, c’est-à-dire aux personnes qui ne possèdent pas la nationalité d’un État Dublin. Par conséquent, la procédure Dublin ne peut pas être exécutée lorsque la demande d’asile émane d’un ressortissant d’un État Dublin ; le cas échéant, des accords de réadmission bilatéraux sont généralement applicables.

Conformément à la procédure Dublin, il y a lieu de relever les empreintes digitales des requérants d’asile, lesquelles sont ensuite enregistrées dans Eurodac, la base de données centrale prévue à cet effet. La comparaison des données empêche les personnes de demander l’asile dans plusieurs États Dublin.

vers le haut Dernière modification 01.03.2019