Other topics

Gender-specific persecution

Men and women are affected by conflicts, war and human rights abuses in many different ways. They may be persecuted for the same reasons, but when women are persecuted there are often factors involved which are closely linked to their role in society.

The State Secretariat for Migration (SEM) takes account of the particular factors that play a role not only in the persecution of women, but also of members of sexual minorities. The SEM staff decide on a case-by-case basis if forced marriage, female genital mutilation, domestic violence, discriminatory laws, honour killings or sexual orientation/gender identity are factors in granting refugee status. The particular vulnerability of victims of gender-specific persecution is taken into account in these procedures.

Unaccompanied asylum-seeking children (UASCs)

Three teenage boys sit at desk and receive instruction from an educator.
enlarge_picture Unaccompanied asylum-seeking children and teenagers receive special attention and care, such as schooling. (photo: SEM © Gerry Amstutz)

Some of those seeking asylum in Switzerland are under the age of 18 and not accompanied by an adult. Because they are particularly vulnerable, the State Secretariat for Migration has a slightly different asylum procedure for unaccompanied asylum-seeking children (UASCs) in order to protect their specific interests. The Convention on the Rights of the Child, adopted by the General Assembly of the United Nations on 20 November 1989, lays down the principles which may influence this procedure.

The key elements of the procedure with UASCs are:

  • to assess the likelihood that the person is under 18
  • to protect the interests of the UASC by appointing them a caseworker
  • to give priority to the application and to adapt the interview to the specific needs of the child
  • to carefully examine the conditions under which the UASC may be returned to their country of origin.

As soon as an UASC is allocated to a canton, the Confederation and cantons ensure that suitable accommodation, care, schooling and medical care are provided.

to the top Last modification 01.03.2019

Autres thèmes

Persécution liée au sexe

Les hommes et les femmes sont affectés de multiples manières par les conflits, les guerres et les violations des droits humains. Si les deux sexes peuvent être persécutés pour les mêmes raisons, la persécution des femmes est souvent associée à des facteurs étroitement liés à leur rôle dans la société.

Le Secrétariat d’État aux migrations (SEM) tient compte des particularités de la persécution non seulement des femmes, mais aussi des victimes des minorités sexuelles. C’est ainsi qu’il évalue au cas par cas si des mesures en lien avec le mariage forcé, les mutilations génitales féminines, la violence domestique, une législation discriminatoire, les crimes d’honneur et l’orientation sexuelle ou l’identité de genre peuvent conduire à la reconnaissance du statut de réfugié. Ces procédures prennent en considération la vulnérabilité particulière des victimes de persécutions liées au sexe.

Requérants d’asile mineurs non accompagnés

Un agent d’encadrement donne un cours à trois adolescents assis à un bureau.
enlarge_picture L’encadrement des requérants d’asile mineurs non accompagnés est adapté à leur besoins spécifiques, comme ici où ils suivent un enseignement scolaire. (photo: SEM © Gerry Amstutz)

Parmi les personnes qui demandent l’asile en Suisse, certaines sont mineures et non accompagnées. Face à cette vulnérabilité, le Secrétariat d’État aux migrations réajuste les modalités des procédures d’asile engagées afin de sauvegarder les intérêts des mineurs. La Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant, adoptée par l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies le 20 novembre 1989, énonce les principes qui peuvent influencer le déroulement d’une telle procédure.

Les principaux éléments de la procédure appliquée aux requérants d’asile mineurs non accompagnés (RMNA) sont les suivants (dans cet ordre) :

  • évaluation de la vraisemblance de la minorité alléguée ;
  • défense des intérêts du mineur par un représentant désigné à cet effet ;
  • adaptation de la priorité accordée à la demande et de l’audition aux spécificités du mineur ;
  • examen minutieux des conditions d’un éventuel retour au pays.

Dès qu’un RMNA est attribué à un canton, ce dernier et la Confédération prennent des mesures appropriées en matière d’hébergement, d’encadrement, de formation scolaire et de surveillance médicale.

vers le haut Dernière modification 01.03.2019