Global Refugee Forum

On 19 September 2016, the New York Declaration for Refugees and Migrants was adopted at the UN summit on refugees and migrants. The declaration gave the Office of the UN High Commissioner for Refugees UNHCR the mandate to develop, in consultation with States and other stakeholders (including civil society and refugee organisations), a global compact on refugees to be adopted by the UN General Assembly in 2018.

The Compact sets four objectives: relieve the pressure on host countries, strengthen the autonomy of refugees, broaden access to solutions in third countries and promote conditions for a safe and dignified return to countries of origin.

As a follow-up mechanism, the Compact provides for a ministerial conference to be held every four years, bringing together all the partners (States, private sector, civil society, etc.) involved in its implementation. The first Global Refugee Forum, which took place in Geneva from 16 to 18 December 2019 was attended by more than 3,000 participants. Switzerland co-hosted the event with the UNHCR. Five other states were the co-organisers: Germany, Costa Rica, Ethiopia, Pakistan and Turkey. The next forum, scheduled for 2023, will aim to follow up on the commitments made in 2019 and to formulate new ones.

The first Forum had two main goals: first, commitments in the form of pledges and specific programmes to advance the objectives of the Compact. Second, to highlight key achievements and share best practices.

Switzerland made six pledges: 1. Multi-year funding for the UNHCR (125 million. 2019-2022); 2. A new asylum procedure; 3. An integration agenda; 4. The resettlement programme 2020-2021; 5. The creation in Geneva of the "Global Hub for Education in Emergencies"; 6. Access to education. It also made three joint commitments with UNHCR, IOC and ICRC respectively. In total, more than 770 pledges and programmes were presented.

SEM also shared three good practices: 1. the pilot programme "Integration pre-apprenticeship and early language support"; 2. the cantonal integration programme (CIP); 3. the Swiss programme for the promotion of linguistic integration (fide).

Last modification 24.04.2021

Top of page

Forum mondial sur les réfugiés

Le 19 septembre 2016, la Déclaration de New York pour les réfugiés et les migrants a été adoptée lors du Sommet des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés et les migrants. Cette déclaration chargea l’Agence des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés (HCR) d’élaborer, en consultation avec les États et d’autres parties prenantes (y compris la société civile et des organisations de réfugiés), un Pacte mondial sur les réfugiés, adopté par l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies en 2018.

Le pacte fixe également quatre objectifs : alléger la pression sur les pays d’accueil, renforcer l’autonomie des réfugiés, élargir l’accès aux solutions dans des pays tiers et favoriser les conditions d’un retour dans les pays d’origine en sécurité et dans la dignité.

En tant que mécanisme de suivi, le pacte prévoit l’organisation tous les quatre ans d’une Conférence de rang ministériel réunissant tous les partenaires (États, secteur privé, société civile, etc.) impliqués dans la mise en œuvre du pacte. Le premier Forum mondial sur les réfugiés, qui s’est tenu du 16 au 18 décembre 2019 à Genève, a rassemblé plus de 3000 participants. La Suisse était hôte de cet événement, avec le HCR. Cinq autres États en étaient les coorganisateurs: l’Allemagne, le Costa Rica, l’Éthiopie, le Pakistan et la Turquie. Le prochain forum, prévu en 2023, devra permettre d’assurer le suivi des engagements pris en 2019 et d’en formuler de nouveaux.

Ce premier forum avait deux but principaux : s’engager via des promesses de contributions et des actions concrètes (pledges) à faire progresser les objectifs du pacte ; mettre en évidence les principales réalisations et partager les bonnes pratiques.

La Suisse a présenté six promesses : 1. Le financement pluriannuel du HCR (125 millions pour 2019-2022) ; 2. La nouvelle procédure d’asile ; 3. L’Agenda Intégration Suisse ; 4. Le programme réinstallation pour 2020-2021; 5. La création à Genève du Centre mondial pour l’éducation en situation d’urgence ; 6. L’accès à l’éducation. Elle a également présenté trois engagements en commun avec le HCR, le CIO et le CICR. Au total, plus de 770 promesses et actions concrètes ont été présentées.

Le SEM a également présenté trois bonnes pratiques : 1. Le programme pilote de préapprentissage d’intégration et d’encouragement précoce de la langue ; 2. Les programmes d’intégration cantonaux (CIP) ; 3. Le programme suisse de promotion de l’intégration linguistique (fide).

Dernière modification 24.04.2021

Début de la page