Dublin

Dublin is a legislative framework for determining which Dublin State is responsible for examining a specific asylum application. The Dublin States are all of the EU States plus the four associated States (Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein). In Switzerland, the SEM is responsible for examining asylum applications.

When an asylum seeker submits an application in Switzerland, Switzerland must first establish whether or not it is actually responsible for processing this person's asylum application. It does this on the basis of the criteria set out in the Dublin Regulation. If another State is found to be responsible, Switzerland will transfer the asylum seeker to that State.

The purpose of this system is to ensure that one State is clearly responsible for examining each asylum application. This system of responsibility is designed to give all asylum seekers access to the asylum procedure and to guarantee prompt processing of their applications. This should ensure that all asylum seekers have their applications examined and that no two States are examining the same application.

Dublin is frequently mentioned in association with Eurodac, the technical toolbox for implementing the Regulation. Eurodac is a database used to store the fingerprints of all asylum seekers. When an individual makes an asylum application in Switzerland, Switzerland can crosscheck the records in the Eurodac database to see whether that person has already submitted an asylum application in another Dublin State.

The Dublin Regulation has already undergone two amendments. The latest Dublin III Regulation entered into force throughout the EU on 19 July 2013.

The current amendment proposal by the European Commission of 4 May 2016 was a response to the migration crisis of 2015. The proposal focuses on strengthening the Dublin system by enhancing the efficiency of procedures. Another important goal is to curb secondary migration. Further, the proposal contains a mechanism for providing solidarity support to Dublin member states under considerable pressure from migration.

to the top Last modification 20.09.2016

Dublin

Dublin constitue un cadre juridique qui permet de désigner l’Etat Dublin compétent pour examiner une demande d’asile. Les Etats Dublin regroupent tous les Etats de l’UE, ainsi que les quatre Etats associés (Suisse, Norvège, Islande et Principauté de Liechtenstein). En Suisse, c’est le SEM qui est chargé de l’examen des demandes d’asile.

Lorsqu’un requérant d’asile dépose une demande dans notre pays, celui-ci doit tout d’abord vérifier qu’il est compétent pour mener la procédure. Il s’assurera donc de sa compétence en se référant aux critères énoncés dans le règlement Dublin. Si un autre Etat devait s’avérer responsable, la Suisse transfèrerait le requérant vers cet Etat.

Le but de ce système est d’attribuer sans équivoque à un Etat la compétence de traiter une demande d’asile. Ce système garantit au requérant d’asile un accès à la procédure et un traitement rapide de sa demande. Il donne à chaque requérant l’assurance que sa demande est bien examinée et qu’elle ne fait pas l’objet d’un examen dans deux Etats en même temps.

Dublin est souvent assimilé à Eurodac, qui est, pour ainsi dire, l’instrument technique du règlement. Il s’agit d’une banque de données dans laquelle sont enregistrées les empreintes digitales de tous les requérants d’asile. Lorsqu’une personne dépose une demande d’asile dans notre pays, celui-ci peut, en comparant les empreintes digitales avec celles figurant dans la banque de données Eurodac, savoir si elle a déjà présenté une requête dans un autre Etat Dublin.

Le règlement Dublin a déjà été modifié par deux fois afin de tenir compte de divers changements. Le règlement Dublin III est entré en vigueur le 19 juillet 2013 à l’échelle de l’UE.

La dernière proposition de révision déposée par la Commission européenne le 4 mai 2016 se veut une réponse à la crise migratoire de 2015. Elle vise essentiellement à renforcer le système Dublin en rendant les procédures plus efficaces, à endiguer la migration secondaire et à instaurer un mécanisme permettant de soulager solidairement les États Dublin soumis à une pression migratoire particulièrement forte.

vers le haut Dernière modification 20.09.2016