For the complete list of topics see the German, French or Italian version of this page

Application submission The employer Submits the relevant application documents to the cantonal employment service. Depending on the case or canton that is competent to examine applications, applications are to be submitted to the migration agency of the given canton.
Workers from nations subject to visa requirement are requested to apply for a visa with the local Swiss diplomatic representation abroad.
Application screening The cantonal employment service Screens applications according to the ANAG directives and makes a preliminary decision. Applications approved by the canton need to be submitted to the State Secretariat for Migration for final approval.
Application screening The State Secretariat for Migration SEM Processes applications according to criteria relevant to the whole of Switzerland. The applicant, employer and both cantonal offices receive a formal written decision from the Migration Office. The decision is subject to a charge, payable by the employer, and does not authorize the applicant to enter Switzerland.
Issuance of visa The cantonal migration authority (formerly aliens’ police department) Advises (by consent of SEM where persons from nations subject to visa requirements are concerned) the appropriate Swiss diplomatic representation abroad online to issue visa. Applicants are requested to collect their visa at that specific Swiss representation.
Registration The employee Registers himself with the residents’ registration office not longer than 14 days after his entry into Switzerland. Only then is he allowed to take up his employment. 



  • Entry

    Information on Visa Application

to the top Last modification 01.03.2010

Déroulement de la procédure

Dépôt de la demande L’employeur ou le travailleur dépose le dossier de demande auprès de l’autorité cantonale du marché du travail ou, dans certains cas et selon le canton, à l’autorité compétente en matière de migration.
En outre, les travailleurs pour lesquels un visa est requis doivent en faire la demande auprès de la représentation diplomatique suisse à l'étranger compétente pour leur lieu de domicile.
Examen L’autorité cantonale du marché du travail examine la demande sur la base des directives LSEE et prend une décision préalable. Les demandes acceptées par le canton sont soumises au SEM pour approbation.
Examen Le SEM examine les demandes en fonction de critères nationaux. Il rend une décision à l’intention du requérant, de l'employé et des deux autorités cantonales concernées, les émoluments étant à la charge de l’employeur. Une décision favorable n’équivaut pas à une autorisation d’entrer en Suisse.
Délivrance du visa L’autorité cantonale compétente en matière de migration (anciennement police des étrangers) se fondant sur l’approbation du SEM, transmet l’autorisation de visa par voie électronique à la représentation suisse compétente (pour autant que la personne concernée soit soumise à l’obligation de visa). C’est là que le visa pourra alors être retiré.
Annonce Le travailleur salarié s'annonce au plus tard 14 jours après l'entrée auprès de l'autorité compétente de contrôle des habitants. La prise d'une activité lucrative est autorisée après l'annonce.

Documents

Liens

  • Entrée

    Informations relatives à la demande de visa

vers le haut Dernière modification 01.03.2010