Brexit

Keywords: Brexit

In 2016 the United Kingdom (UK) decided that it wished to leave the European Union (EU). This will also have consequences for Switzerland, since relations between Switzerland and the UK are primarily governed by the bilateral agreements between Switzerland and the EU.

In the withdrawal agreement between the EU and the UK, the two parties have agreed on a transitional phase lasting until 31 December 2020. This means that the UK will continue to have the status of an EU Member State until this date.

The Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons (AFMP) between Switzerland and the EU thus continues to apply to UK nationals in Switzerland and Swiss nationals in the UK until 31 December 2020. During this transitional period, both UK and Swiss nationals will be able to acquire AFMP rights until 31 December 2020.

The UK is an important partner for Switzerland. The Federal Council wants therefore to ensure that existing mutual rights and obligations continue to apply and are even expanded after Brexit (Mind the Gap strategy).


Safeguarding citizens’ rights

At its meeting on 19 December 2018, the Federal Council approved the agreement with the United Kingdom (UK) on citizens’ rights post Brexit. This agreement protects the rights of Swiss and UK nationals obtained in the UK and Switzerland respectively under the AFMP (e.g. residency rights).

After the signing of the agreement in Bern on 25 February 2019, the Federal Council conducted consultation proceedings, which ran until 29 May 2019.

On 6 December 2019, the Federal Council adopted the dispatch on the agreement and submitted it to Parliament.

The agreement will enter into force on 1 January 2021, at the end of the transitional period. If the transitional period is extended by the EU and the UK, the agreement will come into force after the new end date.


Further information

Documentation

Further information regarding the agreement on the rights of citizens can be found here:

to the top Last modification 01.02.2020

Brexit

Mots-clés: Brexit

En 2016, le Royaume-Uni a décidé de quitter l’Union européenne (UE). Cette sortie a également des conséquences pour la Suisse, les relations entre notre pays et le Royaume-Uni étant aujourd’hui régies dans une large mesure par les accords bilatéraux conclus entre la Suisse et l’UE.

Dans l’accord de retrait, le Royaume-Uni et l’UE ont convenu d’une phase de transition jusqu’au 31 décembre 2020, ce qui signifie que, jusqu’à cette date, le Royaume-Uni doit être assimilé à un État membre de l’UE.

L’accord sur la libre circulation des personnes (ALCP) entre la Suisse et l’UE reste donc applicable aux ressortissants du Royaume-Uni en Suisse et aux ressortissants suisses au Royaume-Uni jusqu’au 31 décembre 2020. Jusqu’à cette date, les ressortissants des deux pays peuvent encore acquérir des droits découlant de l’ALCP.

Le Royaume-Uni est un partenaire important de la Suisse. Aussi le Conseil fédéral entend-il préserver – voire étendre – les droits et obligations des ressortissants suisses et britanniques au-delà de la date à laquelle le Royaume-Uni quittera l’UE (stratégie "Mind the gap").


Garantir les droits acquis des citoyens

Lors de sa séance du 19 décembre 2018, le Conseil fédéral a approuvé l’accord avec le Royaume-Uni sur les droits acquis des citoyens. Grâce à cet accord, aussi bien les ressortissants suisses ayant acquis des droits au Royaume-Uni au titre de l’ALCP que les citoyens du Royaume-Uni ayant acquis des droits en Suisse au même titre (par ex., droits de séjour) conserveront ces droits après le Brexit.

Après la signature de l’accord à Berne, le 25 février 2019, le Conseil fédéral a lancé une procédure de consultation, qui a duré jusqu’au 29 mai 2019.

Le 6 décembre 2019, le Conseil fédéral a adopté le message concernant cet accord et l’a transmis au Parlement pour approbation.

L’accord entrera en vigueur après la phase de transition, soit le 1er janvier 2021. Si l’UE et le Royaume-Uni prolongent cette phase, l’entrée en vigueur de l’accord sera reportée d’autant.


Infos complémentaires

Documentation

De plus amples informations concernant l’accord sur les droits des citoyens se trouvent ici :

vers le haut Dernière modification 01.02.2020