Basis for admission to the Swiss labour market for foreign nationals


Switzerland follows a dual system for granting foreign nationals access to the Swiss labour market. Regardless of their qualifications, workers from EU and EFTA states are granted easier access under the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons. Those from all other states – known as third-states – are admitted in a system complementary to the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons. Only a limited number of highly qualified workers can be admitted, since experience has shown that they have better long-term professional and social integration prospects than people with lower qualifications.

The admission criteria are listed in the Foreign Nationals Act (FNA) and the Ordinance on Admission, Residence and Employment (AREO). They are explained in more detail in the directives of the Foreign Nationals Act.

The following remarks summarise the most important admission criteria so that you understand the requirements for obtaining a work permit from the Swiss authorities and can submit a comprehensive and well-supported application. 

The following information applies to all sectors. However, for certain sectors, personal requirements are regulated in more detail, information on minimum wages and working conditions are added, and exceptions to admission requirements are described. This additional information is contained in point 4.7 ff. of the FNA directives. More information on where to submit applications and on the admission procedures is available under ‘Procedure’.


Overall economic interest

(Art. 18 and Art. 19 FNA)

Admission of third-state nationals to the Swiss labour market is only granted if it is in the interests of Switzerland and the Swiss economy as a whole (Art. 18 and Art. 19 FNA). In each case, the prevailing labour market situation, long-term economic growth and the ability of the foreign national to integrate are taken into account.

Applicants must explain and document why their admission is in the overall economic interest.


Quotas

(Art. 20 FNA)

Admissions of non-EU and non-EFTA state nationals are limited. To this end, the Federal Council determines the maximum numbers in the Ordinance on Admission, Residence and Employment (AREO) on an annual basis.


Precedence

(Art. 21 FNA)

Third-state nationals can be admitted only if it is not possible to recruit a person who qualifies for precedence from the labour market in Switzerland or in an EU/EFTA state. Precedence is given to Swiss nationals, foreign nationals with a permanent residence permit (Permit C), and foreign nationals with a residence permit authorising them to work (Permit B, incl. recognised refugees). In addition, precedence is granted to foreign nationals with temporary admission (Permit F), persons granted temporary protection who have a permit entitling them to work (Permit S) and all persons from countries with which a treaty on free movement has been concluded (Permits L and B). Employers must prove that, despite their best efforts, no suitable workers from the categories that take precedence could be recruited.

In doing so, employers must show that they made a genuine effort – in terms of the time spent, the geographical area searched and the measures used – to fill the position with an applicant from Switzerland or from an EU/EFTA state. Contact with third-country nationals should only take place after the search has proved unsuccessful.

Vacant positions must be registered with the regional employment centres (RAV) and advertised via the European Employment System (EURES). Employers must also demonstrate to the authorities that a search via the recruitment channels used in the sector (specialist journals, employment agencies, online portals and social media, private referrals, etc.) was unsuccessful. Suitable proof includes newspaper advertisements, confirmation from employment agencies, etc. A list of all the candidates with brief details of the qualifications they lacked is often helpful. In certain cases, the authorities may also request that special recruitment efforts be made.

Employment services


Obligation to give notice of vacant positions

(Art. 21a FNA)

In addition to the precedence given to applicants from Switzerland or from states with which a free movement agreement has been concluded (as per Art. 21 FNA), Art. 21a FNA requires notice to be given to regional employment agencies of certain job vacancies. This represents a further obstacle to admission for third-state nationals.

Obligation to give notice of vacant positions applies to those professions, areas of activity or economic regions in which the national unemployment rate is five percent or higher (Art. 53a para. 1 Recruitment Ordinance (RecO)). Within the transitional provisions, which apply from 1 July 2018 to 31 December 2019, the threshold is set at eight percent. The State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO annually updates the list of professions that are subject to the obligation to give notice:
List of professions that are subject to the obligation to give notice

Vacancies in professions in which the unemployment rate is at or above the threshold, and which are to be filled by third-state citizens, must be registered with regional employment agencies unless an exception applies under Article 21a para. 6 FNA in conjunction with Art. 53d RecO. For example, jobseekers registered with the public regional employment centres (RAVs) regardless their nationality. In addition, exceptions apply to operational transfers within international companies of individuals who have been employed for at least six months with the same company and compulsory work placements during a period of training.

The obligation to register the vacancy must be monitored by the competent cantonal authority. Thus, when applying for a work permit for professions in which unemployment is higher than average, employers must include evidence that the vacancy has been officially registered.

Further information is available in German, French and Italian:


Salary and employment conditions customary in the region and sector

(Art. 22 FNA)

Salary, social security contributions and employment terms for foreign workers must accord with local, professional and sectoral conditions. Some sectors lay down these conditions in a collective labour agreement, which is legally binding at national or at least cantonal level. The authorities also carry out checks on wage and working conditions to ensure that foreign employees are not exposed to abusive working conditions and that workers already in Switzerland are protected from wage dumping.

When submitting an application, the employer must enclose a contract of employment signed by both parties but stating that “the contract applies only if the authorities grant a work permit”. This makes it clear that both parties understand the legal position. Whenever possible standard contract forms should be used.

Employers must register all employees with the various social security authorities. The Federal Social Insurance Office FSIO, together with the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO, has compiled a guide to social security (the Ratgeber Sozialversicherung) that offers clear and comprehensive information.

Foreign employees without permanent residence are subject to tax deduction at source and so must be registered with the tax authorities. It is then the employer's responsibility to deduct the tax each month from the salary and transfer it to the tax authorities. Further information on this subject can be obtained from the cantonal tax authorities or the Federal Tax Administration. 

The new Federal Act on Illegal Employment (IEA) simplifies the procedure for paying social security contributions for smaller-scale employed jobs. It also contains new measures and more severe penalties to combat illegal employment. The principle for employers and foreign employees that all gainful activity – whether paid or unpaid – requires a permit remains unchanged. Violations of local, occupational and sector-specific wage and working conditions as well as illegal employment cases are normally investigated by the cantonal authorities or specialist agencies set up specifically for this purpose in some sectors and carry criminal penalties.


Personal requirements

(Art. 23 FNA)

Admissions are limited to managers, specialists and other qualified workers. ‘Qualified workers’ primarily means individuals with a degree from a university or university of applied sciences who also have several years of professional experience. Depending on the profession or the field of specialisation, individuals with special training and several years of professional experience can also be admitted.

In addition to professional qualifications, certain integration criteria must be taken into account when granting residence permits: a person’s professional and social adaptability, language skills and age must suggest that they can become sustainably integrated into the Swiss labour market and Swiss society.

Qualifications are checked on basis of a person’s CV, their education certificates and their employment references. The authorities require copies of documents in their original language as well as translations into one of Switzerland’s official language or English.

If the foreign education or professional training system is significantly different from that of Switzerland, it is helpful for the authorities if documents contain additional information about the training institution and the length and content of training (e.g. curriculum, training certificates on examination subjects taken and results obtained, etc.).


Derogations from the admission requirements

(Art. 30 FNA)

In certain cases, certain legally regulated exceptions from the admission requirements are possible. The following overview is not exhaustive, but represents the most frequent cases:

  • Management or specialist transfers in international companies
    The precedence rules do not apply to operational transfers for senior managers and essential specialists in international companies.
  • Internships and training and further education
    - In global companies (knowledge transfer)
    - Compulsory placements while studying
  • Doctoral / post-doctoral students
    Individuals who continue to study or pursue research work at a recognised or accredited Swiss higher education institution beyond their foundation degree, in order to develop a specialisation and thus ensure the best possible development of science and technology in Switzerland.
    Recognised or Accredited Swiss Higher Education Institutions
  • Family members
    Family members of Swiss nationals and those holding residence permits do not need to go through an additional permit process to become self-employed or take up employment. Family members of people holding a short-term permit do require a permit. Salary and employment conditions must correspond to those that are customary for the job and the region, and evidence must be presented of fulfilment of the personal requirements.
  • Au pairs
    An au pair arrangement involves the temporary admission of young foreign nationals who arrive in Switzerland to improve their language skills and expand their general education through better knowledge of the host country. In return, au pairs provide the families they live with certain services, such as light housework and childcare. Au pairs from third states aged between 18 and 25 can be admitted for a maximum stay of 12 months. They are not subject to the precedence rule. However, as this increases the need for protection (trafficking in human beings, exploitation), it is compulsory to make au pair arrangements through an organisation recognised in Switzerland.
     
  • Gainful employment following study in Switzerland (Art. 21 para. 3 FNA)
    Foreign nationals can be admitted to work without having to provide evidence of their status under the precedence rule in Art. 21 FNA if there is a significant academic or economic interest in their employment. This rule applies only to degrees from recognised Swiss higher education institutions (universities and universities of applied sciences).
    Recognised or Accredited Swiss Higher Education Institutions

Accommodation

(Art. 24 FNA)

Foreign nationals may only be admitted in order to work if suitable accommodation for them is available.   


Legal foundations

to the top Last modification 04.12.2018

Bases régissant l’admission de ressortissants étrangers sur le marché suisse du travail


En Suisse, l’admission de la main-d’œuvre étrangère est régie par un système binaire. L’accord sur la libre circulation des personnes permet aux travailleurs en provenance de l’UE/AELE de bénéficier d’un accès facilité au marché suisse de l’emploi quel que soit leur niveau de qualification. S’agissant des autres pays – dits États tiers –, seuls les travailleurs qualifiés peuvent être admis, dans des proportions restreintes, conformément au mandat du Conseil fédéral. En effet, l’expérience montre que leur insertion professionnelle et sociale à moyen terme est bien meilleure que celle des personnes peu qualifiées.

Les critères d’admission sont inscrits dans la loi fédérale sur les étrangers (LEtr) et dans l’ordonnance relative à l’admission, au séjour et à l’exercice d’une activité lucrative (OASA). Ils sont encore précisés dans les directives LEtr.

Vous trouverez ci-après un condensé des principaux critères d’admission qui vous permettra de comprendre à quelles conditions les autorités peuvent délivrer une autorisation. Ainsi, vous serez en mesure de constituer un dossier de demande complet et bien documenté.

Les explications qui suivent sont valables pour toutes les branches économiques, mais certaines d’entre elles connaissent des réglementations plus détaillées contenant notamment des exigences relatives aux qualifications personnelles, des indications sur les conditions minimales applicables en matière de rémunération et de travail et des précisions sur les dérogations aux conditions d’admission. Ces informations supplémentaires figurent au ch. 4.7 des directives LEtr. Par ailleurs, la rubrique « Déroulement de la procédure » fournit des renseignements sur la procédure et les services auprès desquels vous pouvez déposer votre demande.


Intérêts économiques du pays

(art. 18 et 19 LEtr)

Les ressortissants d’États tiers ne sont admis sur le marché du travail en Suisse que si leur admission sert les intérêts économiques de l’ensemble du pays (art. 18 et 19 LEtr). Lors de l’appréciation de cette condition, il est tenu compte, en particulier, de la situation sur le marché du travail, de l’évolution économique durable et de la capacité de l’étranger de s’intégrer.

Il appartient au requérant de motiver et de documenter sa capacité à servir les intérêts économiques du pays.


Contingents

(art. 20 LEtr)

L’admission de la main-d’œuvre extracommunautaire (hors UE/AELE) est soumise à des limitations. À cet égard, le Conseil fédéral fixe chaque année des nombres maximums d’autorisations dans l’ordonnance relative à l’admission, au séjour et à l’exercice d’une activité lucrative (OASA). Au préalable, il entend les cantons et les partenaires sociaux.


Ordre de priorité

(art. 21 LEtr)

L'admission des ressortissants d’États tiers n'est envisageable que si aucun travailleur n’est disponible sur le marché du travail intérieur ou sur les marchés de l’emploi de l’UE/AELE. Bénéficient de la priorité les citoyens suisses, les étrangers établis (permis C), les étrangers titulaires d’une autorisation de séjour octroyée en vue de l'exercice d'une activité lucrative (permis B, réfugiés reconnus compris), les étrangers détenteurs d’une admission provisoire (permis F), les personnes auxquelles une protection a été provisoirement accordée et qui sont en possession d’une autorisation d’exercer une activité lucrative (permis S) ainsi que les ressortissants de pays (actuellement : États de l’UE et de l’AELE) avec lesquels un accord de libre circulation des personnes a été conclu (permis L ou B). L’employeur doit apporter la preuve qu’il n’a pas trouvé le personnel requis, malgré les efforts consentis, parmi les travailleurs bénéficiant de ladite priorité.

L'employeur doit être en mesure de rendre crédible qu'il a déployé des efforts en temps opportun, avec une large couverture géographique et en s’appuyant sur des annonces au contenu adéquat, en vue d'attribuer le poste à des candidats présents sur le marché intérieur, ou ressortissants d’États membres de l’UE ou de l’AELE. Des ressortissants d’États tiers ne sauraient être recrutés que si les autres efforts n’ont pas abouti.

Les postes mis au concours sont à communiquer à l’Office régional de placement (ORP). Une annonce doit également être publiée dans le système EURES, le portail européen dédié à l’emploi. Par ailleurs, l’employeur doit prouver aux autorités que la mise au concours par les canaux usuels dans le secteur économique concerné (revues spécialisées, bourses à l’emploi, portails en ligne, de même que médias sociaux, agences de placement de personnel, etc.) n’a pas été fructueuse. Font office de preuves les annonces parues dans la presse, les confirmations d’agences de placement, etc. Une vue d’ensemble des candidats, avec indication succincte des motifs de non-engagement, s’avère souvent très utile. Dans certains cas, des efforts de recrutement particuliers peuvent être exigés.

Portails dédiés à l’emploi


Obligation de communiquer les postes vacants

(art. 21a LEtr)

L’admission de ressortissants d’États tiers est soumise non seulement à la condition de la priorité des travailleurs en Suisse et des ressortissants de pays avec lesquels un accord sur la libre circulation des personnes a été conclu (selon l’art. 21 LEtr), mais également à l’obligation de communiquer les postes vacants (art. 18, let. c, et 21a LEtr).

L’obligation de communiquer les postes vacants concerne les professions, les domaines d’activité ou les régions économiques qui enregistrent, au niveau suisse, un taux de chômage supérieur ou égal à 5 % (art. 21a, al. 3 ss, LEtr). Dans les dispositions transitoires applicables du 1er juillet 2018 au 31 décembre 2019, la valeur seuil est de 8 %. Le Secrétariat d'État à l'économie (SECO) dresse chaque année une liste des groupes de professions soumis à l’obligation de communiquer les postes vacants :
Liste des groupes de professions soumis à l’obligation de communiquer les postes vacants

Les postes à (re)pourvoir par des ressortissants d’États tiers dans les genres de professions qui enregistrent un taux de chômage supérieur au seuil sont soumis à l’obligation de communiquer, sauf si la réglementation d’exception visée à l’art. 21a, al. 6, LEtr, en relation avec l’art. 53d OSE, s’applique (par ex., engagement de demandeurs d’emploi enregistrés auprès du service public de l’emploi – quelle que soit leur nationalité –, échange de personnel au sein d’entreprises internationales dans le cas de personnes engagées au moins six mois dans la même entreprise, stage obligatoire pendant une formation).

L’obligation de communiquer les postes vacants doit être vérifiée par l’autorité cantonale compétente. Dans les groupes de professions dont le taux de chômage est supérieur à la moyenne, l’employeur doit accompagner les demandes d’octroi d’une autorisation de travail d’une preuve que le poste a bien été mis au concours.


Conditions de rémunération et de travail en usage dans la localité et la profession

(art. 22 LEtr)

Les conditions de rémunération et de travail – prestations sociales incluses – accordées à l’étranger doivent correspondre à celles en usage dans la localité et la profession. Dans certaines branches économiques, ces conditions sont fixées dans des conventions collectives de travail, qui sont contraignantes au plan cantonal voire national. En contrôlant au préalable les conditions de rémunération et de travail, les autorités protègent les travailleurs étrangers contre des conditions d'engagement abusives et les travailleurs indigènes contre la sous-enchère salariale.

L’employeur joint à la demande un contrat de travail signé par les deux parties. Le contrat portera la mention : « Le présent contrat n'est valable que sous réserve de l’octroi d’une autorisation de séjour par les autorités ». Cette mesure confère aux parties la sécurité juridique pour ce qui est de leurs engagements réciproques. L’utilisation des formulaires de contrat en usage dans la branche simplifie la tâche des autorités.

Les employeurs sont tenus d’annoncer tous leurs salariés auprès des diverses assurances sociales. À cet égard, le guide sur les assurances sociales, édité par l’Office fédéral des assurances sociales (OFAS) en collaboration avec le Secrétariat d’État à l’économie (SECO), fournit toutes les informations nécessaires.

Les travailleurs étrangers qui ne sont pas titulaires d’une autorisation d’établissement sont imposés à la source, raison pour laquelle ils doivent être annoncés aux autorités fiscales. L’employeur est ensuite tenu de déduire l’impôt du salaire mensuel et de verser le montant retenu au fisc. Pour de plus amples informations, vous pouvez vous adresser aux autorités fiscales cantonales ou à l’Administration fédérale des contributions.

La nouvelle loi sur le travail au noir (LTN) prévoit, d’une part, de simplifier les décomptes de primes d’assurance sociale pour des activités salariées peu importantes, d’autre part, d’intensifier la lutte contre le travail par l'adoption de nouvelles mesures et le durcissement des sanctions. Quant au principe, valable tant pour l’employeur que pour l’étranger, selon lequel une autorisation est nécessaire pour toute activité lucrative, qu’elle soit rémunérée ou non, il reste inchangé. L’inobservation des conditions de rémunération et de travail en usage dans la localité et la profession et les cas de travail au noir sont examinés en premier lieu par les autorités cantonales ou par les services spécialement créés à cet effet dans certaines secteurs.

Informations


Qualifications personnelles

(art. 23 LEtr)

Seuls sont admis les cadres, les spécialistes et les autres travailleurs qualifiés. Sont considérés comme travailleurs qualifiés, en premier lieu, les titulaires d’un diplôme universitaire ou d’une haute école spécialisée et les personnes disposant d’une expérience professionnelle de plusieurs années. Selon la profession ou la spécialisation, des personnes disposant d’une formation spécialisée particulière et d’une expérience professionnelle de plusieurs années peuvent également être admises.

Lors de l’octroi d’une autorisation de séjour, il y a lieu de tenir compte, outre des qualifications professionnelles, des critères d’intégration de l’étranger : sa capacité d’adaptation professionnelle et sociale, ses connaissances linguistiques et son âge doivent laisser supposer qu’il s’intégrera durablement dans l’environnement professionnel et social suisse.

Le respect des exigences en matière de qualifications est vérifié au moyen du curriculum vitae, des diplômes et des certificats de travail remis par le travailleur. À cet effet, les autorités ont besoin d’une copie des documents originaux et de leur traduction s’ils ne sont pas rédigés dans l’une des langues nationales suisses ou en anglais.

Lorsque les personnes proviennent de pays dont le système de formation scolaire et professionnelle diffère beaucoup du nôtre, il est judicieux de mettre à disposition des autorités des documents fournissant des informations supplémentaires concernant l’établissement de formation ainsi que la durée et la nature de la formation (p. ex., le plan d’études, les certificats attestant les disciplines d’examen et les résultats obtenus, etc.).


Dérogations aux conditions d’admission

(art. 30 LEtr)

Des dérogations aux conditions d’admission, définies avec précision dans la loi, sont possibles dans certains cas. L’aperçu qui suit n’est pas exhaustif, mais a le mérite de présenter les cas les plus fréquents :

  • Cadres ou spécialistes
    La préférence des travailleurs en Suisse ne s’applique pas au transfert de cadres supérieurs ou de spécialistes indispensables au sein d’entreprises internationales.
  • Stagiaires, personnes en formation ou en formation continue
    - au sein d’une entreprise active au niveau international (transfert de savoir-faire) ;
    - si des stages sont obligatoires pendant les études.
  • Doctorants ou post-doctorants
    Personnes qui, au-delà de leur formation universitaire de base, poursuivent leurs études ou leurs travaux de recherche dans une haute école suisse reconnue ou agréée à des fins de spécialisation, en vue de garantir le développement optimal de la science et de la technologie en Suisse.
    Hautes écoles suisses reconnues ou accréditées
  • Membres de la famille
    L’exercice d’une activité lucrative indépendante ou salariée n’est soumise à aucune procédure d’autorisation supplémentaire pour les membres de la famille de ressortissants suisses, de titulaires d’une autorisation d’établissement ou de titulaires d’une autorisation de séjour. En revanche, les membres de la famille du titulaire d’une autorisation de séjour de courte durée doivent obtenir une autorisation. À cet égard, les conditions de rémunération et de travail en usage dans la localité et la branche économique doivent être respectées. De plus, l’intéressé doit prouver qu’il remplit les conditions personnelles requises.
  • Jeunes gens au pair
    Les séjours au pair consistent en l’accueil en Suisse, pour une période limitée, de jeunes étrangers souhaitant parfaire leurs connaissances de la langue ou compléter leur formation générale grâce à une meilleure connaissance du pays hôte, de même que par l’intermédiaire d’une famille d’accueil, en échange de certaines prestations (travaux ménagers simples et garde d’enfants). Les employés au pair en provenance de pays tiers âgés de 18 à 25 ans peuvent être admis en Suisse et y séjourner pendant 12 mois au plus ; ils ne sont pas soumis à l’ordre de priorité. Le besoin de protection étant cependant en augmentation (traite d'êtres humains, exploitation), les personnes au pair doivent être placées par des organisations reconnues.
  • Personnes exerçant une activité lucrative après des études en Suisse (art. 21, al. 3, LEtr)
    Nonobstant l’ordre de priorité visé à l’art. 21 LEtr, un étranger peut bénéficier d’une admission en Suisse en vue d’y exercer une activité lucrative si celle-ci revêt un intérêt scientifique ou économique prépondérant. Cette réglementation n’est cependant applicable qu’aux diplômés d’une haute école suisse reconnue (université ou haute école spécialisée).
    Hautes écoles suisses reconnues ou accréditées

Logement

(art. 24 LEtr)

Un étranger ne peut être admis en vue de l’exercice d’une activité lucrative que s’il dispose d’un logement approprié.


Bases légales

vers le haut Dernière modification 04.12.2018