Integrated Border Management (IBM)

Keywords: Security policy

Illegal migration, people smuggling and cross-border crime pose huge challenges to federal and cantonal authorities. Stopping these forms of crime requires close co-operation and co-ordination on all levels and between various stakeholders.

In February 2011, the Federal Council set up an interdepartmental working group within the federal administration and involving the cantons. The working group was tasked with formulating an integrated border management strategy for Switzerland. The Federal Council took note of the working group’s final report, Integrated Border Management Strategy (IBM Strategy, in June 2012.

The strategy consolidates all federal and cantonal activities to combat illegal migration, people smuggling and cross-border crime. At the same time, it makes provision for facilitating border-crossing for people entering Switzerland legally. To implement the strategy the Federal Council appointed a working group to formulate an action plan defining specific measures. The Integrated Border Management Action Plan was approved by the Federal Council in June 2014 and by the Conference of Cantonal Justice and Police Directors CCJPD in November 2014.

The cantons play a major part in integrated border management. Federal Councillor, Simonetta Sommaruga, and Cantonal Councillor, Hans-Jürg Käser, therefore signed a framework agreement on behalf of the Federal Department of Justice and Police FDJP and the CCJPD declaring their commitment to implementing the action plan in stages between 2014 and 2017.

The action plan, with 68 targeted measures, is a guarantee that the strategy is implemented. The measures range from selected improvements to existing provisions, to new and far-reaching action in the field of national and international border management.

Implementation of the action plan is supervised by the State Secretariat for Migration SEM who reports to the Federal Council and CCPJD annually. The 2016 annual report draws a generally positive conclusion: 54% of the 68 measures have been implemented (2015: 37%) and the implementation 24% of the measures is on schedule. However, work on implementing some of the measures has not progressed as expected: progress on implementing 15% of the measures is difficult and even critical for 4% of the measures. And 3% of the measures have already proven in previous years to be impossible to implement. The reason for this appears to be the shortage of resources, which leads to the conclusion that the appropriate agencies do not consider these measures a high priority. The Federal Council and CCPJD took due note of the annual report at the end of June 2017.

The IBM strategy was developed in 2012. The corresponding action plan is valid from 2014 to 2017, whereby implementation of the final measures must be started by the end of 2017 and completed by the end of 2019. Before the SEM starts work with its partners on the follow-up strategy, the work to date will be independently evaluated. The external evaluation will critically examine the relevance, practicality, effectiveness, efficiency, coherence and sustainability of the activities to date, identify areas of improvement and provide a sound basis for developing a new strategy, if necessary.

to the top Last modification 30.06.2017

Gestion intégrée des frontières / Integrated Border Management (IBM)

La migration illégale, le trafic de migrants effectué par métier et la criminalité transfrontalière placent les autorités fédérales et cantonales face à de grands défis. Lutter efficacement contre ces phénomènes nécessite une collaboration et une coordination intensives allant au-delà des domaines de responsabilité de chacun.

Pour cette raison, le Conseil fédéral a institué, en février 2011, un groupe de travail interdépartemental auquel sont associées les administrations cantonales concernées et qu’il a chargé de mettre au point une stratégie nationale de gestion intégrée des frontières. Au mois de juin 2012, il a pris acte du rapport final du groupe stratégique "Gestion intégrée des frontières".

La stratégie proposée englobe toutes les activités menées par la Confédération et les cantons pour combattre la migration illégale, le trafic de migrants effectué par métier et la criminalité transfrontalière. En même temps, elle doit permettre aux personnes qui voyagent en toute légalité d’entrer sans difficultés en Suisse. Pour mettre en œuvre cette stratégie, le Conseil fédéral a chargé un groupe de travail d’élaborer un plan d’action constitué de mesures concrètes. En juillet 2014, le Conseil fédéral a pris acte du plan d’action "Gestion intégrée des frontières" remis par ledit groupe de travail et la Conférence des directrices et directeurs des départements cantonaux de justice et police (CCDJP) a fait de même en novembre 2014.

Les cantons étant appelés à jouer un rôle essentiel dans la gestion intégrée des frontières, la conseillère fédérale Simonetta Sommaruga et le conseiller d’État Hans-Jürg Käser ont signé, le 13 novembre 2014, une convention-cadre entre le Département fédéral de justice et police et la CCDJP, qui scelle la volonté de la Confédération et des cantons d’exécuter le plan d’action conjointement et de manière échelonnée, sur une période s’étalant de 2014 à 2017.

Ce plan d’action, qui comprend 68 mesures opérationnelles et stratégiques, doit permettre d’atteindre les objectifs stratégiques. Les mesures vont de simples améliorations ponctuelles à des nouveautés d'une portée considérable dans le domaine de la gestion des frontières en Suisse et à l’étranger.

Le Secrétariat d’État aux migrations supervise la mise en œuvre du plan d’action. Il rend annuellement compte de l’avancement des activités au Conseil fédéral et à la CCDJP. Dans l’ensemble, le rapport annuel 2016 dresse un bilan positif. 54 % des 68 mesures sont déjà mises en œuvre (2015 : 37 %) tandis que 24 % sont en cours de réalisation selon le calendrier convenu. En revanche, certains travaux n’ont pas avancé comme espéré. Ainsi, la mise en œuvre n’est jugée que partiellement satisfaisante dans 15 % des cas et même insatisfaisante dans 4 %. En outre, 3 % des mesures avaient déjà été qualifiées d’impossibles à réaliser les années précédentes. Cette stagnation semble s’expliquer en premier lieu par les ressources limitées engagées par les unités organisationnelles, qui n’ont accordé qu’une faible priorité aux mesures concernées. Le Conseil fédéral et la CCDJP ont pris connaissance de ce rapport fin juin 2017.

La stratégie IBM remonte à 2012. Le plan d’action y afférent court de 2014 à 2017, sachant que les dernières mesures doivent être lancées d’ici fin 2017 et bouclées d’ici 2019. Le SEM va faire évaluer en externe les travaux déjà menés avant de mettre au point une nouvelle stratégie en étroite collaboration avec les autorités partenaires. Cette évaluation indépendante doit apporter un éclairage critique sur la portée, l’adéquation, l’efficacité, la rentabilité, la cohérence et la durabilité des activités menées, identifier des améliorations possibles et fournir une base solide pour développer, si nécessaire, une nouvelle stratégie.

vers le haut Dernière modification 30.06.2017