Switzerland and UK to sign Memorandum of Understanding strengthening bilateral cooperation on migration

Bern, 18.12.2020 - At its meeting on 18 December, the Federal Council approved a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the United Kingdom (UK) on mobility and extending cooperation on migration. Although not legally binding, the MoU underlines the close cooperation between the two countries in the field of migration and serves as a basis for future mutual support. It forms part of the Swiss government’s Mind the Gap strategy, which is designed to preserve continuity in Swiss-UK relations beyond Brexit.

Following the United Kingdom's departure from the EU on 31 January 2020 and after the transition period set to end on 31 December 2020, the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons (AFMP) between Switzerland and the EU will no longer apply to the UK. As there will continue to be a significant volume of trade between Switzerland and the UK, it is important to maintain and indeed strengthen bilateral relations with the UK.

The UK will introduce a new points-based immigration system on 1 January 2021. Also from this date, UK nationals arriving in Switzerland will be subject to the Foreign Nationals and Integration Act (FNIA). Switzerland and the UK held exploratory discussions back in February of this year on their cooperation in migration between their two countries after the transition period, as part of the Mind the Gap strategy.

The MoU is the result of these talks and provides a foundation for future cooperation on migration. This will focus on shared priorities such as access to each other's labour market, mobility and coordination on asylum matters. Expert groups, information exchange and capacity building will bolster the two countries' joint efforts in these areas.  

Approval and implementation

The MoU was approved by the Federal Council at its meeting on 18 December. Serving as a declaration of intent, it is not legally binding or time-limited. The MoU will come into effect when signed; this is due to take place before the end of the year.

Agreement on acquired rights

Independent of the MoU, the Agreement on Acquired Citizen's Rights signed by Switzerland and the UK on 25 February 2019 will come into effect from 1 January 2021. Under this agreement, UK and Swiss nationals retain residence (and other) rights obtained in the other country under the AFMP before 31 December 2020.

Quotas for UK nationals working in Switzerland

At its meeting on 25 November 2020, as part of the revision of the Ordinance on Admission, Period of Stay and Employment (ASEO), the Federal Council also decided on the maximum numbers of UK nationals who may be recruited to work in Switzerland in the coming year. This quota has been set at 3,500 for 2021: 2,100 with temporary residence permits (B) and 1,400 with short-stay permits (L). This will ensure the necessary flexibility for the Swiss economy. The Federal Council decided on these maximum numbers unilaterally; they are valid for one year for the time being and the quotas will be released to the cantons on a quarterly basis.

Ordinance on introduction of free movement amended

The Federal Council also adopted an amendment to the Freedom of Movement Introduction Ordinance at its meeting on 18 December 2020. This amendment was necessary in connection with the implementation of the agreement on mobility of service providers. The preamble, subject matter and scope of the ordinance will be amended so that the notification requirement also applies to self-employed service providers covered by the agreement. The revised legislation will come into force on 1 January 2021 and from that date will be known as the Ordinance on the Free Movement of Persons.


Address for enquiries

Information and Communication SEM, T +41 58 465 78 44, medien@sem.admin.ch



Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Justice and Police
http://www.ejpd.admin.ch

State Secretariat for Migration
https://www.sem.admin.ch/sem/en/home.html

Last modification 11.10.2020

Top of page

News subscription

https://www.sem.admin.ch/content/sem/en/home/sem/medien/mm.msg-id-81714.html

Schweiz und UK verstärken bilaterale Migrationszusammenarbeit mit einem Memorandum of Understanding

Bern, 18.12.2020 - Der Bundesrat hat an seiner Sitzung vom 18. Dezember 2020 ein Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) mit dem Vereinigten Königreich (UK) betreffend Mobilität und Stärkung der Zusammenarbeit im Bereich der Migration genehmigt. Das rechtsunverbindliche MoU unterstreicht die enge Kooperation beider Staaten im Migrationsbereich und dient als Grundlage für die zukünftige Zusammenarbeit. Es ist Teil der Mind the gap-Strategie, mit der der Bundesrat die Kontinuität in der Beziehung Schweiz-UK über den Brexit hinaus sichern will.

Nach dem Austritt des UK aus der EU am 31. Januar 2020 und nach dem voraussichtlichen Ende der Übergangsperiode am 31. Dezember 2020 ist das Personenfreizügigkeitsabkommen zwischen der Schweiz und der EU ab dem 1. Januar 2021 für das UK nicht mehr anwendbar. Der wirtschaftliche Austausch mit dem UK bleibt bedeutend, entsprechend wichtig ist es, die bilateralen Beziehungen mit diesem Land in bewährtem Umfang fortzusetzen und weiterzuentwickeln.

Das UK wird ab dem 1. Januar 2021 sein neues Immigrationssystem (Point Based System, PBS) einführen. Neueinreisende UK-Staatsangehörige werden ab dann in der Schweiz gestützt auf das Ausländer- und Integrationsgesetz (AIG) zugelassen. Um die Migrationszusammenarbeit im Rahmen der "Mind the gap"-Strategie über das Ende der Übergangsperiode hinaus zu sichern, haben die Schweiz und das UK bereits im Februar 2020 exploratorische Gesprächen aufgenommen.

Das MoU ist das Ergebnis dieser Explorationen und stellt die Grundlage für die künftige Zusammenarbeit im Bereich der Migration dar. Im Zentrum dieser Zusammenarbeit sollen gemeinsam geteilte prioritäre Schwerpunkte stehen wie der jeweilige Zugang zum Arbeitsmarkt, Mobilität oder eine Koordination im Asylbereich. Mit Hilfe von Expertengruppen, Informationsaustausch und Capacity Building beabsichtigen die Schweiz und das UK die Zusammenarbeit in den genannten Bereichen weiterzuentwickeln.  

Genehmigung und Inkraftsetzung

Das MoU wurde vom Bundesrat an seiner Sitzung vom 18.12.2020 genehmigt. Es ist rechtsunverbindlich, unbefristet und dient als Absichtserklärung. Das MoU tritt mit der   Unterzeichnung, die noch dieses Jahr stattfinden soll, in Kraft.

Abkommen über die erworbenen Rechte

Unabhängig davon wird per 1. Januar 2021 das Abkommen über die erworbenen Rechte angewendet, das die Schweiz und das Vereinigte Königreich am 25. Februar 2019 unterzeichnet haben. Mit diesem Abkommen behalten Schweizerinnen und Schweizer sowie Staatsangehörige des Vereinigten Königreichs ihre Aufenthaltsrechte (und andere Rechte), welche sie gestützt auf das FZA bis am 31. Dezember 2020 im jeweils anderen Land erworben haben. 

Kontingente für erwerbstätige UK-Staatsangehörige

Im Rahmen der Teilrevision der Verordnung über Zulassung, Aufenthalt und Erwerbstätigkeit (VZAE) hat der Bundesrat an seiner Sitzung vom 25. November 2020 auch die für ein Jahr gültigen Höchstzahlen für erwerbstätige UK-Staatsangehörige beschlossen. 2021 können damit bis zu 3500 Erwerbstätige aus dem Vereinigten Königreich rekrutiert werden: 2100 mit Aufenthaltsbewilligungen (B) und 1400 mit Kurzaufenthaltsbewilligungen (L). So wird die nötige Flexibilität für die Schweizer Wirtschaft gewährleistet. Diese Höchstzahlen hat der Bundesrat unilateral beschlossen; sie gelten vorerst für ein Jahr und sollen quartalsweise an die Kantone freigegeben werden.

Anpassung der Verordnung über die Einführung des freien Personenverkehrs

Ebenfalls am 18.12.2020 hat der Bundesrat die im Zusammenhang mit der Umsetzung des Abkommens über die Mobilität von Dienstleistungserbringern nötige Anpassung der Verordnung über die Einführung des freien Personenverkehrs verabschiedet. Der Ingress, Gegenstand und Geltungsbereich dieser Verordnung werden so angepasst, dass die Regelung der Meldepflicht auch auf selbstständige Dienstleistungserbringende, die vom Abkommen erfasst werden, anwendbar ist. Die revidierte Verordnung tritt am 1.1.2021 in Kraft und heisst ab diesem Datum Verordnung über den freien Personenverkehr.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Information und Kommunikation SEM, T +41 58 465 78 44, medien@sem.admin.ch



Herausgeber

Der Bundesrat
https://www.admin.ch/gov/de/start.html

Eidgenössisches Justiz- und Polizeidepartement
http://www.ejpd.admin.ch

Staatssekretariat für Migration
https://www.sem.admin.ch/sem/de/home.html

Letzte Änderung 11.10.2020

Zum Seitenanfang

Medienmitteilungen abonnieren

https://www.sem.admin.ch/content/sem/de/home/sem/medien/mm.msg-id-81714.html