Frequently asked questions about Dublin Procedure and Eurodac

Dublin Procedure

The Dublin Area comprises the 28 EU member states and Norway, Iceland, Switzerland and Liechtenstein. It is based on two regulations of the European Council and the European Commission that determine which Dublin member state is responsible for conducting the asylum procedure, the aim being to prevent persons from lodging multiple applications in different countries. The Dublin Procedure does not set a unified asylum procedure for the whole of the Dublin Area, it simply determines which Dublin member state is responsible for handling a given application. Once it has been determined which member state is responsible, this country applies its own national law.

There are a number of criteria determining which member state is responsible for conducting the asylum procedure. For example, a Dublin member state may be responsible if the asylum seeker has already lodged an asylum application or been through the asylum process in that country. It may also be responsible if a close family member of an asylum seeker has already lodged an asylum application in that country or resides there legally. A member state may also be responsible if it has issued a visa or residence permit to the asylum seeker or if the asylum seeker has lived illegally in the country for any length of time.

By making just one member state responsible for each asylum seeker, the aim of the Dublin System is to prevent a person from submitting multiple asylum applications in different countries. The Dublin Procedure only applies to citizens of third countries, i.e. persons who are not nationals of Dublin member states. It does not apply if someone from a Dublin member state applies for asylum in Switzerland; instead, bilateral reassignment agreements usually apply.

When someone lodges an application for asylum in Switzerland, they are questioned and their fingerprints compared with the Eurodac central unit in order to ascertain whether they have already undergone the asylum procedure in another Dublin member state.

In most cases, it is clear which member state is responsible. If not, the asylum seeker is questioned in order to discover other relevant information, e.g. if close family members are residing in other Dublin member states, which will also help to determine responsibility. If the Swiss authorities consider that another Dublin member state is responsible, this country is asked to accept the asylum seeker (‘outgoing procedure’). If the other member state accepts this, Switzerland dismisses the application and the asylum seeker has to leave the country and return to the member state responsible, which is required to process the asylum application. Of course, the same applies to Switzerland: if an asylum seeker lodges an application in another Dublin member state and it is determined that Switzerland is the state responsible, Switzerland must admit the asylum seeker (‘ingoing procedure’) and process their asylum application.

Eurodac

No. Access to Eurodac data is restricted. Member states can only store and compare data, but not request other data. Also, the fingerprint forms contain a numerical code that is issued by the competent member state and can only be decrypted by the same member state. The code does not reveal the identity of the person.

Depending on the category of the person, fingerprints are stored for 10 years (asylum seekers) or 18 months (illegal migrants to the Dublin Area). The fingerprints of people who reside illegally in a Dublin member state are not stored but merely transmitted to Eurodac for comparison. The storage period is the same as the standard Swiss periods for asylum seekers.

A member state that has granted a person asylum or naturalised that person must ensure that his or her fingerprints are deleted from Eurodac as soon as the asylum or naturalisation decision is made. The Council Regulation on Eurodac grants any person affected the right to access information and to have incorrect information corrected. Accordingly, if the person affected requests information on the stored data, the Dublin member state taking the fingerprints must provide this and delete the data if requested to do so. Persons whose fingerprints are taken in the course of a Eurodac procedure must be informed in advance why this is done and that they have a right to access information and to have incorrect information corrected.

to the top Last modification 01.03.2019

Foire aux questions sur la procédure Dublin et sur Eurodac

Procédure Dublin

L’espace Dublin regroupe les 28 pays membres de l’Union européenne (UE), la Norvège, l’Islande, le Liechtenstein et la Suisse. La procédure Dublin repose sur deux règlements du Conseil de l’UE et de la Commission européenne, lesquels précisent quel État Dublin a compétence pour mener une procédure d’asile. L’objectif est qu’une demande d’asile ne soit traitée que par un seul État Dublin. La procédure Dublin ne vise toutefois pas à uniformiser les procédures d’asile dans l’espace Dublin. Une fois que la responsabilité est établie, c'est le droit national de l’État concerné qui s’applique.

Divers critères servent à déterminer quel État Dublin a compétence pour mener une procédure d'asile. Un État peut, par exemple, être responsable de la procédure d’asile lorsque le requérant y a déposé une demande d’asile ou qu'il y a déjà fait l'objet d'une procédure d'asile. La compétence d’un État Dublin peut également résulter du fait qu’un proche parent du requérant y a déjà formulé une demande d’asile ou y séjourne légalement. Enfin, un État membre voit également sa responsabilité engagée, sous certaines conditions, lorsqu’il a octroyé au requérant d’asile un visa ou une autorisation de séjour ou que l’intéressé a séjourné pendant longtemps de manière illicite sur son territoire.

Le système Dublin permet d'empêcher le dépôt de demandes multiples, un requérant d’asile relevant de la compétence d’un seul et unique État membre. Il convient cependant de souligner que l’accord d’association à Dublin s’applique aux seuls ressortissants d’États tiers, c’est-à-dire à des personnes ne possédant pas la nationalité d’un État Dublin. Corollairement, cela signifie qu’il n’est pas permis d’ouvrir une procédure Dublin lorsque la demande d’asile émane d’un citoyen d’un État Dublin ; habituellement, ces cas sont réglés par des accords de réadmission bilatéraux.

Les personnes qui déposent une demande d’asile en Suisse sont entendues dans le cadre d’une audition et leurs empreintes digitales sont comparées avec celles enregistrées dans la base de données européenne Eurodac. Il est ainsi possible, en règle générale, de déterminer si le requérant a déjà fait l’objet d’une procédure d’asile dans un autre État Dublin.

Dans la plupart des cas, la responsabilité est donc établie de la sorte. L’audition vise à établir d’autres faits comme le séjour d’un proche parent dans un autre État Dublin, qui engagerait la responsabilité de cet État. Lorsqu’il ressort de ces démarches qu’un autre État Dublin est compétent, la Suisse demande à ce dernier de prendre en charge le cas (procédure de sortie). Si l’État en question donne suite à la requête, l’autorité suisse n’entre pas en matière sur la demande d’asile (décision de non-entrée en matière). Le requérant d’asile est alors tenu de quitter la Suisse et c’est l’État Dublin compétent qui mène la procédure d’asile. Il va de soi que ces règles de compétence sont également valables en sens inverse : lorsqu’il s’avère qu’une demande d’asile déposée dans un État Dublin relève de la compétence de la Suisse, cette dernière est tenue de laisser entrer l’intéressé sur son territoire (procédure d’entrée) puis d’examiner sa demande d’asile.

Eurodac

Ce risque n’existe pas. L’accès aux données d’Eurodac est limité. Les États membres peuvent uniquement enregistrer des données et effectuer des comparaisons. Ils ne peuvent pas consulter de données étrangères. En outre, les fiches d’empreintes digitales sont munies d’un code chiffré lequel est attribué par l’État membre compétent et ne peut être décodé que par ce dernier. Ce code ne permet pas d’établir l’identité d’une personne.

Selon la catégorie de personnes, les empreintes digitales restent enregistrées pendant dix ans (demandes d’asile) ou 18 mois (entrées illégales dans l’espace Dublin). Les empreintes digitales de personnes séjournant de manière irrégulière dans un État Dublin ne sont pas enregistrées. Elles peuvent uniquement être transmises dans Eurodac à des fins de comparaison. Ces délais d’enregistrement correspondent aux délais appliqués en Suisse s’agissant des requérants d’asile.

Lorsqu’un État membre octroie l’asile ou la nationalité à une personne, il doit veiller à ce que, du fait de sa décision, les empreintes digitales de cette personne soient effacées dans Eurodac. Le règlement Eurodac du Conseil européen accorde à l’intéressé le droit de se renseigner sur ses données et de les faire rectifier en cas de besoin. L’État Dublin compétent qui a relevé les empreintes digitales doit ainsi, à la demande de l’intéressé, lui donner des renseignements sur les données enregistrées voire les effacer s’il le demande. Lorsque l’on relève les empreintes d’une personne en vue d’une recherche dans Eurodac, il y a lieu d’informer au préalable l’intéressé du but du relevé de ses empreintes ainsi que de son droit d’être renseigné sur ses données et de demander qu’elles soient rectifiées.

vers le haut Dernière modification 01.03.2019