Annual Tripartite Consultations on Resettlement

Since 1995, representatives of governments and non-governmental organisations, international stakeholders and refugees have been meeting at the Annual Tripartite Consultations on Resettlement (ATCR) under the auspices of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR).

The ATCR aims to facilitate and improve the coordination of resettlement between governments, civil society and UN organisations.

Logo UNHCR / ATCR / Bund / SFH

In June 2020, Switzerland assumed the one-year chair of the ATCR for the first time. The tripartite chair is held by the State Secretariat for Migration (SEM), the Swiss Refugee Council (SRC) and UNHCR. For the first time, this year’s chair is also advised by the Refugee Steering Group (RSG), a committee consisting of refugees.

As the host, Switzerland has the opportunity to help shape political-strategic and operational policies. Moreover, chairing the ATCR allows to address the international coordination of resources in the field of resettlement.

Switzerland has a long humanitarian tradition in the area of refugee reception. In order to make the best use of its expertise, the Swiss chair chose the theme ‘Strengthening capacities to promote opportunities for refugees in unprecedented times’ for the 2020/2021 ATCR cycle.

Last modification 03.11.2020

Top of page

Consultations annuelles tripartites sur la réinstallation

Depuis 1995, les Consultations annuelles tripartites sur la réinstallation (ACTR) rassemblent, sous les auspices du Haut-Commissariat des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés (HCR), des représentants gouvernementaux et des organisations non gouvernementales ainsi que des acteurs internationaux et des réfugiés.

L’ATCR vise à assurer et à améliorer la coordination en matière de réinstallation entre les États, la société civile et les agences de l’Organisation des Nations Unies.

Logo UNHCR / ATCR / Bund / SFH

Au mois de juin 2020, la Suisse a pour la première fois pris la présidence de l’ATCR. C’est plus précisément le Secrétariat d’État aux migrations, l’Organisation suisse d’aide aux réfugiés et le HCR qui assureront cette fonction pendant un an. Pour la première fois, ceux-ci seront assistés dans leur tâche par le Refugee Steering Group, un comité composé de réfugiés.

Dans le cadre de sa mission, la Suisse a la possibilité de contribuer au règlement de questions politico-stratégiques et opérationnelles ainsi qu’à la mobilisation à l’échelle internationale des ressources disponibles dans le domaine de la réinstallation.

Notre pays jouit d’une longue tradition humanitaire dans l’accueil des réfugiés. Soucieux de tirer le meilleur parti de son savoir-faire, il a donc choisi comme devise pour l’ATRC « Strengthening capacities to promote opportunities for refugees in unprecedented times ».

Dernière modification 03.11.2020

Début de la page