FAQ Brexit

Following the United Kingdom’s departure from the EU, the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons (AFMP) with the EU will no longer apply between Switzerland and the United Kingdom (UK). Switzerland and the UK signed an agreement on acquired citizen rights on 25 February 2019. The agreement is intended to protect the residence rights (and other rights) of Swiss and British citizens acquired under the AFMP. With this agreement, these rights are preserved beyond Brexit. The agreement thus provides legal certainty for these persons.

Nationals from the United Kingdom wanting to immigrate after the end of the AFMP are not covered by the present agreement on acquired citizen rights (see question 10). Family reunification remains possible under this new agreement.

According to recent developments in the negotiations between UK and the EU, UK’s withdrawal from the EU has been postponed. Information on the date of the entry into force of the agreement on acquired citizens’ rights depends on the progress of these negotiations.

The agreement on acquired citizens’ rights will come into force as soon as the AFMP no longer applies between Switzerland and the United Kingdom. This will be after the end of the transition period agreed between the EU and the UK, e.g. probably on 1 January 2021.

The EU and the United Kingdom have to ratify the withdrawal agreement before there can be a transition period. This process has not yet been completed.

If the UK leaves the EU without a transitional period, the agreement on acquired citizens’ rights shall be applied on a provisional basis from the day after the UK left the EU.

The withdrawal agreement between the EU and UK has therefore an impact on when this agreement on the citizens’ rights comes into force.

Switzerland is not a member State of the EU. The withdrawal agreement regulates relations regarding immigration between the EU and the UK. Switzerland and the UK have thus drawn up their own bilateral agreement on their acquired citizens’ rights.

The agreement protects AFMP-rights acquired before the AFMP ceases to apply between Switzerland and the UK. Some of the areas covered by the new agreement are:

  • Residence with gainful employment (employed and self-employed)
  • Residence without gainful activity
  • Right to family reunification
  • Employment in Switzerland as a cross-border commuter
  • Continuation of service provisions (up to 90 days per calendar year) in the other party by companies and self-employed persons domiciled in Switzerland or the United Kingdom
  • Principle of non-discrimination
  • Right to purchase immovable property

You’ll find further information on social security and the recognition of professional qualifications on the websites of the Federal Social Insurance Office and the State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation. 
Federal Social Insurance Office 
State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation

There are four major differences between the AFMP and the bilateral agreement on the acquired citizen rights between Switzerland and the United Kingdom:

  1. Before issuing a new short-stay permit, residence permit or border commuter permit, the competent authority may require  nationals from UK to produce an extract from the criminal records register.
     
  2. Offences committed after the AFMP ceases to apply will be assessed according to the rules of the Foreign Nationals and Integration Act (FNIA), as is the case for non-EU/EFTA nationals. For convictions, the penal provisions with regard to expulsion apply.
     
  3. Five years after the AFMP ceases to apply, the reunification of future spouses will be regulated by the provisions of the FNIA. These provisions are somewhat stricter than the AFMP rules. For example, a person must prove that they have sufficient financial means to pay their own and their family members’ living expenses.
     
  4. The preferential market access for person-related service provisions under the AFMP (90 days per calendar year) is no longer applicable to provision who start after the AFMP. Those services fall under the conditions of the General Agreement on Trade in Services (GATS) of the WTO. Service provisions which started during the application of the AFMP can be concluded under the terms of the AFMP.

Rights can be acquired for as long as the AFMP still applies between Switzerland and the UK.

The EU and the UK have agreed a transition period which is due to run until the end of 2020. If this transition period is implemented, the AFMP will still apply between Switzerland and the UK. This means that AFMP rights could be acquired at the latest by 31 December 2020.

For the transition period to be implemented, the EU and the UK must ratify the withdrawal agreement. This process has not yet been concluded.

If the UK leaves the EU without a withdrawal agreement and without a transitional period, the agreement on acquired citizens' rights will be applied on a provisional basis from the day after the UK leaves the EU. UK nationals must therefore have entered Switzerland before UK leaves the EU and have met the admission requirements of the AFMP.

UK nationals living in Switzerland who obtained a short- or long-stay residence permit before the AFMP ceased to apply and are therefore registered in a commune do not generally need to take any action. The same applies to persons with an EU/EFTA cross-border commuter permit.

There is, however, a possibility that UK nationals with a valid residence permit may be called upon to exchange their current permit for another. This would not affect their existing right to remain, as long as the person concerned continues to meet the relevant residence requirements under the AFMP. If they are not called on to exchange their permit, they must simply apply for a new permit before their existing one expires, as usual.

In Switzerland. the cantons are responsible for issuing residence permits. The issuing authorities in each canton can be found here:
Cantonal immigration and labour market authorities

No, British citizens only fall under the agreement on acquired citizens’ rights if they were admitted to Switzerland under the provisions of the Free Movement of Persons Agreement (AFMP). Holders of a FDFA legitimation card or a Ci permit do not fall under the AFMP (see 1.3.4 of the Directives on the Ordinance for Implementing the Free Movement of Persons – ‘Weisungen zur VEP’ – not available in English).

The rights acquired under this agreement are valid indefinitely, provided the conditions stipulated in the agreement are met.

The acquired rights are lost, if the terms of this agreement are no longer met.

Example 1: A UK national who gives up his/her residence in Switzerland by announcing his/her departure to another country cannot ‘reactivate’ his/her acquired rights at a later stage. Without announcing the departure, short-stay permits and residence permits expire after absences from Switzerland of more than six months. Upon request, the settlement permit can be maintained for four years in case of absences from Switzerland.

Example 2: A person who commits a crime and poses a threat to public order after the AFMP ceases to apply may lose their acquired residence rights based on the somewhat stricter provisions of the FNIA.

Example 3: UK employees in Switzerland who become unemployed can stay in Switzerland while drawing unemployment benefits. After their entitlement to unemployment benefits expires, they must either find gainful employment or meet the requirements of another residence category  under the AFMP in order to stay in Switzerland. Otherwise they will lose their acquired residence rights (see the factsheets on the different residence categories as well as the FAQ AFMP > Job loss) on the SEM website: 
Free Movement of Persons Switzerland – EU/EFTA: Factsheets 
FAQ AFMP

The agreement on the acquired citizen rights was approved by the Federal Council on 19 December 2018 and signed by Switzerland and UK on 25 February 2019. As usual, the Federal Assembly will also have to approve the agreement. At the end of this approval process, the agreement will be subject to an optional referendum.

When the agreement on the acquired citizen rights comes into force depends on the implementation of the EU-UK withdrawal agreement. In the withdrawal agreement, the two parties have agreed on a transition period until the end of 2020. During this transition period, the AFMP will also continue to apply between Switzerland and the UK and will only cease to apply after the end of the transition period. The agreement on the acquired citizens’ rights would therefore come into effect on 1 January 2021.

If the United Kingdom leaves the EU without a withdrawal agreement and without a transitional period, the agreement on acquired citizens' rights shall be applied on a provisional basis from the day after the UK's withdrawal from the EU. This would mean that nationals from UK must have entered Switzerland and have met the conditions for admission under the AFMP before the UK hast left the EU.  

UK nationals wanting to immigrate to Switzerland after the end of the AFMP are not covered by the present agreement.

Unless an additional bilateral agreement between Switzerland and the UK is concluded, UK nationals wanting to immigrate to Switzerland after the AFMP ceases to apply must meet the terms of the Foreign Nationals and Integration Act FNIA. They would be subject to quotas in such a case. In February, the Federal Council decided to create separate quotas for 3500 persons. This guarantees the necessary flexibility for the Swiss economy, which can thus continue to recruit British workers.

Switzerland and the UK are also conducting talks on a possible future immigration scheme. The exact form of the scheme has not yet been agreed. Any agreement on immigration after the AFMP ceases to apply must respect the terms of the Swiss Constitution (e.g. Art. 121a ).

Currently, a revision of regulation (EU) 2018/1806 is being prepared at EU level. With the revision of this regulation, citizens of the United Kingdom are exempted from visa requirements for a short-term stay (90 days in any 180-day period) for the Schengen area (therefore including Switzerland) also in case of a no-deal withdrawal.

For further information:
Passport rules for travel to Europe after Brexit
(GOV.UK)

In case of an orderly withdrawal from the EU based on the negotiation agreement, the current provisions apply during a transition period until 31.12.2020. This means that also in this case, citizens of the UK who are currently Union citizens do not need a visa to travel to Switzerland.

For citizens of the UK travelling to Switzerland for a short-term stay (duration of no more than 90 days in any 180-day period), the entry conditions for such persons are as follows:

  • they are in possession of a valid travel document entitling the holder to cross the border under following conditions (list of travel documents authorizing entry into Switzerland):
    • - they must hold a recognised travel document valid for at least three months after the intended date of departure from the Schengen area and issued within the previous ten years (the date of issue concerns only entry into the Schengen area);
    • - if the person possesses a residence permit of a Schengen country (list of residence permits issued by Member States) or a valid type D visa (national visa; if requested by a Schengen state), the travel document shall be valid at the time of entry and during the planned stay.
  • they must explain the purpose and conditions of their stay in Switzerland and/or in the Schengen state(s) they intend to visit;
  • they must have sufficient financial resources to cover the entire duration of the intended stay as well as the return trip to their country of origin or a transit trip to a third country, or they must be able to obtain the necessary financial resources by some other lawful means;
  • they must not be the subject of an alert issued in order to prevent them from entering Switzerland;
  • they must not pose a threat to Swiss security, public order, public health or the international relations of any of the Schengen states;
  • they may not have been sentenced to expulsion from or refusal of entry to Switzerland.

to the top Last modification 16.04.2019

FAQ Brexit

L’accord sur la libre circulation des personnes (ALCP) conclu avec l’Union européenne (UE) ne s’appliquera plus aux relations entre la Suisse et le Royaume-Uni(RU) dès lors que ce dernier se sera retiré de l’UE. La Suisse et le RU ont signé le 25 février 2019 un accord sur les droits acquis des citoyens. Cet’accord préserve au-delà du Brexit les droits de séjour (ainsi que d’autres droits) acquis sous l’ALCP des ressortissants du Royaume-Uni en Suisse et des ressortissants suisses au Royaume-Uni. Cet accord renforce en conséquence la sécurité juridique de ces personnes.

Les ressortissants du Royaume-Uni qui souhaitent immigrer après la fin de l’ALCP, ne peuvent pas se référer à cet accord sur les droits acquis des citoyens (voir question 10). Par contre, le regroupement familial reste possible sous cet accord.   

Selon les récents développements dans les négociations entre le Royaume-Uni et l’UE, le retrait du RU de l’UE a été repoussé. Les informations relatives à la date d’entrée en vigueur de l’accord sur les droits acquis des citoyens dépendent de l’évolution de ces négociations.

L’accord sur les droits acquis des citoyens entrera en vigueur dès que l’ALCP ne s’appliquera plus aux relations entre la Suisse et le Royaume-Uni, soit à la fin de la période transitoire convenue entre l’UE et le Royaume-Uni (vraisemblablement à partir du 1er janvier 2021).

Ladite phase transitoire sera mise en place à condition que l’UE et le Royaume-Uni ratifient l’accord sur le retrait. Ce processus est en cours.

Si le Royaume-Uni quitte l’UE sans accord de retrait et sans phase transitoire, l’accord sur les droits acquis des citoyens est appliqué à titre provisoire à compter du jour suivant le retrait du Royaume-Uni de l’UE.

La Suisse n’est pas membre de l’UE. Cet accord régit les relations entre les deux parties contractantes dans le domaine migratoire. Pour cette raison, la Suisse et le Royaume-Uni ont convenu d’un accord distinct sur les droits des citoyens, basé sur l’ALCP.

L’accord sur les droits acquis des citoyens préserve les droits de l’ALCP qui ont été acquis avant la fin de l’applicabilité de l’ALCP. Il couvre notamment les domaines suivants :

  • séjour avec exercice d’une activité lucrative (travailleurs et indépendants);
  • séjour sans exercice d’une activité lucrative ;
  • droit au regroupement familial ;
  • activité lucrative en Suisse en qualité de frontalier ;
  • poursuite des prestations de services en cours (jusqu’à 90 jours par année civile), sur le territoire de l’autre pays, fournies par des (travailleurs) indépendants ou des entreprises domiciliés en Suisse ou au Royaume-Uni ;
  • interdiction de discrimination ;
  • droit d’acquérir des biens immobiliers.

Des informations pour les domaines de la sécurité sociale et de la reconnaissance des qualifications professionnelles se trouvent auprès de l’Office fédéral des assurances sociales (OFAS) ou du Secrétariat d'Etat à la formation, à la recherche et à l'innovation (SEFRI) :
Office fédéral des assurances sociales (OFAS)
  
Secrétariat d'Etat à la formation, à la recherche et à l'innovation (SEFRI)  

Le passage de l’ALCP à l’accord bilatéral entre la Suisse et le Royaume-Uni sur les droits des citoyens entraînera quatre changements majeurs :

  1. L’autorité compétente pourra exiger des ressortissants du Royaume-Uni qu’ils présentent un extrait de leur casier judiciaire avant de leur délivrer une autorisation de séjour de courte durée, une autorisation de séjour ou une autorisation frontalière.
     
  2. Comme pour les ressortissants d’Etat tiers, les infractions commises après la fin de l’applicabilité de l’ALCP seront traitées conformément à la loi fédérale sur les étrangers et l’intégration (LEI). En cas de condamnation, les dispositions du droit pénal relatives à l’expulsion du pays sont applicables.
     
  3. Le regroupement familial du futur conjoint sera régi par les dispositions de la LEI au-delà d’un délai de cinq ans après la fin de l’applicabilité de l’ALCP. Ces dispositions sont un peu plus strictes que les règles de l’ALCP. L’intéressé devra par exemple prouver qu’il dispose de moyens financiers suffisants pour subvenir à ses besoins et à ceux de sa famille.
     
  4. Après la fin de l’applicabilité de l’ALCP, les prestations de services ne bénéficient plus d’un accès préférentiel au marché selon l’ALCP (jusqu’au 90 jours par année civile). Celles-ci seront soumises aux règles en vigueur dans le cadre de l’Accord général sur le commerce des services (AGCS) de l’OMC. Seules les prestations commencées sous le régime de l’ALCP pourront être menées à leur terme, aux conditions prévues par l’ALCP.

Les droits peuvent être acquis jusqu’à la fin de l’applicabilité de l’ALCP aux relations entre la Suisse et le Royaume-Uni.

L’UE et le Royaume-Uni ont convenu d’une phase transitoire qui pourrait durer jusqu’à fin 2020. Si celle-ci est mise en place, l’ALCP resterait applicable entre la Suisse et le Royaume-Uni. Dans ce cas de figure, les droits devraient être acquis sous le régime de l’ALCP au plus tard d’ici au 31 décembre 2020.

Cette phase transitoire sera mise en place à condition que l’UE et le Royaume-Uni ratifient l’accord sur le retrait. Ce processus est encore en cours.

Si le Royaume-Uni quitte l’UE sans accord de retrait et sans phase transitoire, l’accord sur les droits acquis des citoyens est appliqué à titre provisoire à compter du jour suivant le retrait du Royaume-Uni de l’UE. Ceci signifierait que les ressortissants du Royaume-Uni doivent être entrés et remplir les conditions d’admission de l’ALCP avant le retrait du Royaume-Uni de l’UE.

Les ressortissants du Royaume-Uni qui ont obtenu une autorisation de séjour UE/AELE avant que l’ALCP ne cesse de s’appliquer à leur pays et qui, par conséquent, sont déjà inscrits auprès d’une commune ne doivent entreprendre aucune démarche particulière. Il en va de même pour les titulaires d’une autorisation frontalière UE/AELE.

Néanmoins, il est possible que les détenteurs d’une autorisation de séjour en cours de validité soient tenus d’effectuer des démarches en vue d’échanger de leur titre de séjour. Cette obligation ne saurait toutefois avoir d’incidence sur leur droit de séjour, droit qui leur reste acquis aussi longtemps qu’ils remplissent les conditions d’admission applicables en vertu de l’ALCP. Tant qu’elles ne reçoivent pas une convocation des autorités cantonales en vue de remplacer leur titre de séjour, ces personnes devront uniquement, comme de coutume, demander une nouvelle autorisation avant l’échéance de leur autorisation (avis de fin de validité).

En Suisse, il appartient aux cantons de délivrer ces autorisations. Les coordonnées des autorités cantonales sont indiquées à l’adresse ci-après :
Autorités cantonales des migrations et de l’emploi

Non, les ressortissants britanniques peuvent seulement se prévaloir dudit accord s’ils ont été admis en Suisse sous le régime de l’accord sur la libre circulation des personnes (ALCP). Les titulaires d’une carte de légitimation délivrée par le DFAE ou d’un permis Ci n’entrent pas dans le champ d’application de l’ALCP (cf. ch. 1.3.4 des directives OLCP). 

Les droits conférés par l’accord sur les droits acquis des citoyens sont acquis à vie, pour autant que les conditions qui sont fixées dans ce dernier restent remplies.  

Les droits acquis s’éteignent lorsque les conditions de cet accord ne sont plus remplies.

Exemple 1 : un ressortissant du Royaume-Uni inscrit auprès d’une commune suisse qui annonce son départ définitif dans un autre pays ne pourra pas réactiver ultérieurement le droit acquis. En cas d'absences à l'étranger, les autorisations de séjour de courte durée et de séjour s'éteignent sans annonce de départ après un séjour ininterrompu de six mois à l'étranger. Sur demande auprès des autorités cantonales compétentes, l'autorisation d'établissement peut être maintenue pendant quatre ans.

Exemple 2 : une personne qui commet un délit après la fin de l’applicabilité de l’ALCP et menace l’ordre public risque de perdre les droits de séjours acquis selon les dispositions de la LEI.  

Exemple 3 : un travailleur du Royaume-Uni qui perd son emploi en Suisse peut y demeurer tant qu’il y touche des prestations de l’assurance-chômage suisse. En fin de droit, il devra, pour rester en Suisse, soit retrouver un emploi, soit remplir les conditions d’une autre catégorie de séjour  prévue par l’ALCP. Sinon, il perdra son droit de séjour (voir les factsheets sur les différentes catégories de séjour ainsi que les FAQ ALCP > Perte d’emploi) sur le site Internet du SEM :
Libre circulation des personnes Suisse – UE/AELE : Factsheets 
FAQ ALCP : Foire aux questions

L’accord sur les droits acquis des citoyens a été approuvé par le Conseil fédéral le 19 décembre 2018 et signé le 25 février 2019 par les deux parties. Comme de coutume, les Chambres fédérales devront également approuver l’accord. A la fin de cette procédure d’approbation, l’accord sera soumis au référendum facultatif.

L’entrée en vigueur de l’accord sur les droits acquis des citoyens dépendra de la mise en œuvre de l’accord sur le retrait entre l’UE et le Royaume-Uni. Dans l’accord de retrait du Royaume-Uni de l’UE, les deux parties contractantes se sont accordées sur une phase transitoire jusqu’à fin 2020, pendant laquelle l’ALCP continuera de s’appliquer.

Cet accord prévoit une phase transitoire qui durera jusqu’à fin 2020, et durant laquelle l’ALCP continuera de s’appliquer aux relations entre la Suisse et le Royaume-Uni. En d’autres termes, l’ALCP cessera de s’appliquer seulement à l’issue de la phase transitoire. Le présent accord sur les droits des citoyens serait donc applicable à compter du 1er janvier 2021.

Si le Royaume-Uni quitte l’UE sans accord de retrait et sans phase transitoire, l’accord sur les droits acquis des citoyens est appliqué à titre provisoire à compter du jour suivant le retrait du Royaume-Uni de l’UE. Ceci signifierait que les ressortissants du Royaume-Uni doivent être entrés et remplir les conditions d’admission de l’ALCP avant le retrait du Royaume-Uni de l’UE

L’accord sur les droits des citoyens n’est pas applicable aux citoyens du Royaume-Uni qui souhaitent immigrer en Suisse après la fin de l’applicabilité de l’ALCP. Si aucun nouvel accord bilatéral n’est conclu entre Suisse et le Royaume-Uni après la fin de l’applicabilité de l’ALCP, les ressortissants du Royaume-Uni qui souhaiteront immigrer en Suisse devront se plier aux dispositions de la LEI et seront par conséquent soumis au contingentement. En février, le Conseil fédéral a décidé d’accorder 3500 autorisations de séjour pour les citoyens du Royaume-Uni. Ce contingent apportera à l’économie suisse la flexibilité dont elle a besoin pour continuer de recruter de la main-d’œuvre du Royaume-Uni.

En outre, la Suisse et le Royaume-Uni discutent du futur régime d’immigration. Les modalités n’en sont pas encore définies. Tout accord sur l’immigration faisant suite à l’ALCP devra être conforme aux dispositions constitutionnelles (art. 121a Cst.).

Une modification du règlement (UE) 2018/1806 est actuellement en cours de prépa-ration au niveau de l’UE. Avec cette modification, les ressortissants du Royaume-Uni pourront, y compris dans le cas d’une sortie sans accord du Royaume-Uni de l’UE, entrer sans visa dans l’espace Schengen et donc en Suisse pour un séjour de courte durée n’excédant pas 90 jours sur toute période de 180 jours.

Pour plus d’informations :
Passport rules for travel to Europe after Brexit
(GOV.UK)

Dans le cas d’une sortie avec accord du Royaume-Uni, les règles actuelles continuent de s’appliquer pendant la phase transitoire jusqu’au 31.12.2020, ce qui signifie que les ressortissants du Royaume-Uni, qui actuellement sont des citoyens de l’Union, n’auront pas besoin de visa.

Pour un séjour d’une durée n’excédant pas 90 jours sur toute période de 180 jours, les ressortissants du Royaume-Uni se rendant en Suisse doivent remplir les conditions d’entrée suivantes :

  • Vous êtes en possession d’un document de voyage reconnu (liste des documents de voyage reconnus),
    • - valable au moins trois mois au-delà de la date de sortie prévue de l’espace Schengen et délivré depuis moins de dix ans (la date de délivrance ne concerne que l'entrée dans l'espace Schengen) ; ou
    • - valable au moment de l’entrée et pendant la durée prévue du séjour en Suisse ou dans un autre Etat Schengen, dans le cas où vous disposez d’un titre de séjour délivré par un Etat Schengen (liste des titres de séjour délivrés par un Etat Schengen) ou d’un visa D en cours de validité (visa national, dans le cas où il est requis par un Etat Schengen)
  • Vous justifiez l’objet et les conditions du séjour envisagé en Suisse et/ou dans d’autres Etats Schengen ;
  • Vous disposez de moyens de subsistance suffisants, tant pour la durée du séjour envisagé que pour le retour dans votre pays ou le transit vers un pays tiers dans lequel votre admission est garantie, ou êtes en mesure d’acquérir légalement ces moyens ;
  • Vous n’êtes pas signalé aux fins de non-admission ;
  • Vous n’êtes pas considéré comme constituant une menace pour l’ordre public, la sécurité intérieure, la santé publique ou les relations internationales de l’un des États Schengen ;
  • Vous n’avez pas été condamné à une expulsion pénale ou une interdiction d’entrée.

vers le haut Dernière modification 16.04.2019