Resettlement programmes since 2013

Since 2013, the Federal Council has taken various decisions to enable particularly vulnerable people a direct and safe entry to Switzerland.

Resettlement pilot project

In September 2013, the Federal Council approved the admission of 500 particularly vulnerable refugees under the resettlement pilot project until the end of 2015. All of them were victims of the Syrian conflict, who had already been recognised as refugees by the UNHCR.

Between November 2013 and December 2015 502 persons arrived in Switzerland, mainly Syrian refugees from Lebanon and Jordan, and some Iraqi and Palestinian refugees who were directly resettled from Syria. In Switzerland, they were transferred to one of the eight cantons participating in the pilot project: St. Gallen, Geneva, Solothurn, Lucerne, Valais, Basel-Landschaft, Schaffhausen and Uri.

In a bid to support the integration of these refugees as well as the cantons concerned, the Federal Council allocated CHF 12 million on top of the regular lump sum for integration and the cantonal integration programmes. The cantons received further CHF 20,000 per person for specific integration measures. An additional portion of the funds had already been allocated to provide refugees with a pre-departure orientation in the first-asylum countries (See Integration). A monitoring system for the programmes was set up as well. The two-year integration programmes in the pilot cantons were completed at the end of 2017.

Federal Council decrees of 6 March and 18 September 2015: HUMAK

On 6 March 2015, the Federal Council approved the admission of up to 3,000 additional victims of the Syrian conflict within three years. Under the humanitarian action plan HUMAK, refugees were to be accepted via resettlement as well as by means of a relaxed humanitarian visa scheme. In its decree of 18 September 2015, the Federal Council further decided to participate in the first European relocation programme, committing to take in up to 1,500 asylum seekers. The relocation quota was included in the HUMAK programme approved in March, thus from the overall quota of 3,000 refugees: 1,500 were allocated for relocation, 1,000 for resettlement, and 500 humanitarian visas were issued.

No additional funding was provided for integration in the cantons.

 
Resettlement

On the basis of these Federal Council decrees, 1,000 particularly vulnerable victims of the Syrian conflict were to be resettled to Switzerland over a period of three years. As with the first resettlement pilot project, they were mainly Syrian refugees from the first-asylum countries Jordan and Lebanon as well as Iraqi and Palestinian refugees who entered Switzerland directly from Syria. The admission was carried out in close cooperation with the UNHCR and was completed in January 2017. A total of 999 refugees entered Switzerland.

 
Humanitarian visas

In response to the Syrian crisis, Switzerland temporarily extended the issuing of humanitarian visas through the framework of HUMAK. These facilitated visas applied specifically to close family members (spouses and children under 18) of Syrian nationals who had already been temporarily admitted to Switzerland. At the time of application, beneficiaries had to reside in Syria or without permanent residence status in one of the neighbouring countries (Egypt, Lebanon, Jordan or Turkey) as a consequence of the conflict. From May 2015 until the end of the scheme in January 2018, 501 humanitarian visa were issued.

 
Relocation

On 18 September 2015, the Federal Council decided to participate in the first European relocation programme for a total of 40,000 persons in need of protection, which the European Union had adopted on 14 September 2015. The objective of the relocation programme was to ease the burden on the states on the EU’s external borders, above all Italy and Greece, which were confronted with a particularly large number of asylum applications due to the increased influx of migrants to Europe. Switzerland expressed its willingness to allow up to 1,500 asylum seekers to enter the country, admitting 921 persons from Italy and 579 from Greece, who subsequently went through the national asylum procedure in Switzerland.

Federal Council Decree of 9 December 2016: Resettlement II programme

In December 2016, the Federal Council decided to accept an additional 2,000 victims of the Syrian conflict in Switzerland over a period of two years. These were again refugees recognised by the UNHCR from the first-asylum countries Lebanon and Jordan as well as refugees of Iraqi or Palestinian origin who came to Switzerland directly from Syria. The admission was completed accordingly in spring 2019. A total of 1,993 persons entered Switzerland under this programme.

The Federal Council allocated CHF 24 million to support the cantons in integrating these refugees, amounting to around CHF 12,000 per person. In addition to the usual integration measures, the cantons offered refugees a further integration programme for two years.

Humanitarian Programme Libya

At the urgent request of the UNHCR, the Federal Department of Justice and Police FDJP decided in December 2017 to admit 80 persons severely affected by the Libyan crisis who had already been evacuated to Niger by the UNHCR. Most of the 78 persons admitted were young Eritrean women who had gone through traumatic experiences in their home country and in Libya. They entered Switzerland in spring and summer 2018 and were accommodated in the cantons of Basel-Stadt, Schaffhausen, Zug, Bern, Vaud, Basel-Landschaft, Aargau, Ticino, Solothurn, Neuchâtel and Fribourg.

The cantons offered these refugees a further specific integration programme for two years as was the case in the Resettlement II programme.

Federal Council Decree of 30 November 2018: Resettlement III programme

On 30 November 2018, the Federal Council decided to continue its participation in the UNHCR resettlement programme and to admit up to 800 particularly vulnerable refugees, again victims of the Syrian conflict, to Switzerland within a year.

Due to the continued humanitarian crisis along the Mediterranean route, the FDJP also decided on 16 April 2019 to make available up to 50 places in the agreed quota for the Resettlement III programme for the reception of particularly vulnerable refugees from Libya. Switzerland admitted 35 refugees, including Syrian, Eritrean and Sudanese citizens, whom the UNHCR had already evacuated from Libya to Niger beforehand.

Since 1 May 2019, the integration measures for resettled refugees take place under the Integration Agenda Switzerland IAS.

At the beginning of 2020, the Resettlement III programme was successfully completed, admitting 798 persons in need of protection to Switzerland. Apart from a few individuals from Libya, the resettled refugees were victims of the Syrian conflict – most of them Syrian families who had fled their home country to Lebanon.

Federal Council Decree of 29 May 2019: Resettlement 2020/2021

On 29 May 2019, the Federal Council approved the resettlement framework, of which he had already taken notice on 30 November 2018. The framework had been drawn up jointly by experts from the federal government, the cantons, communes and cities and from other organisations. It envisions a consolidation of Switzerland’s resettlement policy, with the aim of improving planning in accommodation and long-term care of refugees by the cantons and communes. To this end, the Federal Council will decide every two years on the exact admission quota within the range of 1,500 to 2,000 persons.

This framework was first applied for the Resettlement 2020/2021 programme. For these two years, the Federal Council approved the admission of up to 1,600 particularly vulnerable refugees: at least 80% of the quota will cover groups of persons from the crises in the Middle East and along the Central Mediterranean migration route; the remainder of the quota – no more than 20% – is intended for refugees from humanitarian emergency situations.

Last modification 28.07.2020

Top of page

Resettlement-Programme seit 2013

Der Bundesrat hat seit 2013 verschiedene Entscheide getroffen, um besonders schutzbedürftigen Personen die direkte und sichere Einreise in die Schweiz zu gewähren.

Pilotprojekt Resettlement

Im September 2013 beschloss der Bundesrat im Rahmen des Pilotprojekts Resettlement die Aufnahme von insgesamt 500 besonders schutzbedürftigen Flüchtlingen bis Ende 2015. Dabei handelte es sich um Opfer des Syrienkonflikts, die bereits vom UNHCR als Flüchtlinge anerkannt worden waren.

Zwischen November 2013 und Dezember 2015 reisten so insgesamt 502 Personen in die Schweiz ein. Darunter vorwiegend syrische Flüchtlinge aus dem Libanon und aus Jordanien, sowie einige irakische und palästinensische Personen, die direkt aus Syrien in der Schweiz neuangesiedelt wurden. In der Schweiz wurden sie auf die acht Kantone verteilt, die sich am Pilotprojekt beteiligten: St. Gallen, Genf, Solothurn, Luzern, Wallis, Basel-Landschaft, Schaffhausen und Uri.

Zur Unterstützung der Integration der betroffenen Personen sowie der Kantone hatte der Bundesrat zusätzlich zur gewohnten Integrationspauschale und den Kantonalen Integrationsprogrammen KIP 12 Millionen Franken gesprochen. Die Kantone erhielten eine zusätzliche Pauschale von 20 000 Franken pro Person für spezifische Integrationsmassnahmen ausbezahlt. Ein weiterer Teil der Gelder wurde bereits vor Ort in die Information der Flüchtlinge vor ihrer Abreise in die Schweiz investiert (Pre-Departure Orientation siehe Integration). Zudem wurde ein Monitoring eingesetzt. Die zweijährigen Integrationsprogramme in den Pilotkantonen wurden Ende 2017 abgeschlossen.

Bundesratsbeschlüsse vom 6. März und 18. September 2015: HUMAK

Am 6. März 2015 beschloss der Bundesrat die Aufnahme von bis zu 3000 weiteren Opfern des Syrienkonflikts innerhalb von drei Jahren. Die Aufnahmen im Rahmen dieser humanitären Aktion HUMAK sollten einerseits via Resettlement und andererseits über die erleichterte Erteilung von humanitären Visa erfolgen. Mit Beschluss vom 18. September 2015 entschied der Bundesrat zudem, sich mit bis zu 1500 Plätzen am ersten europäischen Umverteilungsprogramm zu beteiligen. Dieses Relocation-Kontingent wurde der im März beschlossenen HUMAK angerechnet, so dass vom Gesamtkontingent von 3000 Personen 1500 für Relocation, 1000 für Resettlement und 500 für humanitäre Visa zugeteilt wurden.

Es wurden keine zusätzlichen Gelder für die Integration in den Kantonen gesprochen.

 
Resettlement

Gestützt auf diese Bundesratsbeschlüsse sollten über die Dauer von drei Jahren 1000 besonders schutzbedürftige Opfer des Syrienkonflikts in der Schweiz neuangesiedelt werden. Dabei handelte es sich wie bereits beim ersten Pilotprojekt Resettlement vorwiegend um syrische Flüchtlinge aus den Erstaufnahmeländern Jordanien und Libanon sowie irakische und palästinensische Flüchtlinge, die direkt aus Syrien in die Schweiz einreisten. Die Aufnahmeaktion erfolgte in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem UNHCR und konnte im Januar 2017 abgeschlossen werden. Insgesamt reisten 999 Personen in die Schweiz ein.

 
Humanitäre Visa

Angesichts der Syrienkrise hatte die Schweiz im Rahmen der HUMAK die Erteilung von humanitären Visa vorübergehend ausgeweitet. Diese Visaerleichterungen richteten sich explizit an die engsten Familienangehörigen wie Ehegatten und minderjährige Kinder von syrischen Staatsangehörigen, die bereits in der Schweiz vorläufig aufgenommen worden waren. Die begünstigten Personen mussten sich zum Zeitpunkt der Gesuchbearbeitung in Syrien oder als Folge der Krise ohne gefestigten Aufenthaltsstatus in einem der umliegenden Staaten Ägypten, Libanon, Jordanien oder Türkei aufhalten. Vom Mai 2015 bis zum Ende der Massnahme im Januar 2018 wurden so 501 humanitäre Visa ausgestellt.

 
Relocation

Am 18. September 2015 entschied der Bundesrat, sich am ersten europäischen Umverteilungsprogramm von insgesamt 40 000 schutzbedürftigen Personen zu beteiligen, das die Europäische Union EU am 14. September 2015 beschlossen hatte. Ziel des Relocation-Programmes war die Entlastung der Staaten an der EU-Aussengrenze, allen voran Italien und Griechenland, die aufgrund der erhöhten Migrationsströme Richtung Europa mit besonders vielen Asylgesuchen konfrontiert waren. Die Schweiz erklärte sich bereit, bis zu 1500 Asylsuchende einreisen zu lassen: 921 Personen wurden aus Italien und 579 aus Griechenland übernommen und durchliefen in der Schweiz das nationale Asylverfahren.

Bundesratsbeschluss vom 9. Dezember 2016: Resettlement II

Im Dezember 2016 beschloss der Bundesrat, nochmals 2000 Opfer des Syrienkonflikts im Zeitraum von zwei Jahren in der Schweiz aufzunehmen. Dabei handelte es sich erneut um vom UNHCR anerkannte Flüchtlinge aus den Erstaufnahmeländern Libanon und Jordanien, sowie Personen irakischer und palästinensischer Herkunft, welche direkt aus Syrien in die Schweiz kamen. Die Aufnahmeaktion konnte im Frühling 2019 planmässig abgeschlossen werden. Insgesamt reisten 1993 Personen in die Schweiz ein.

Zur Unterstützung der Integration dieser Flüchtlinge sowie der Kantone wurden 24 Millionen Franken zur Verfügung gestellt, also rund 12 000 Franken pro Person. In den Kantonen wurden die Flüchtlinge neben den gewohnten Integrationsmassnahmen während zwei Jahren mit einem zusätzlichen Integrationsprogramm begleitet.

Humanitäre Sofortmassnahme Libyen

Auf dringliche Bitte des UNHCR beschloss das Eidgenössische Justiz- und Polizeidepartement EJPD im Dezember 2017 die Aufnahme von 80 von der Libyenkrise stark betroffenen Personen, welche vom UNHCR bereits vorgängig in den Niger evakuiert worden waren. Bei den 78 aufgenommenen Personen handelte es sich grösstenteils um junge eritreische Frauen, die in ihrem Heimatland und in Libyen traumatischen Erlebnissen ausgesetzt waren.

Diese Personen reisten im Frühling und Sommer 2018 in die Schweiz ein und wurden von den Kantonen Basel-Stadt, Schaffhausen, Zug, Bern, Waadt, Basel-Landschaf, Aargau, Tessin, Solothurn, Neuenburg und Freiburg aufgenommen.

In den Kantonen wurden sie analog zum Resettlement II-Programm während zwei Jahren mit spezifischen zusätzlichen Integrationsprogrammen begleitet.

Bundesratsbeschluss vom 30. November 2018: Resettlement III

Am 30. November 2018 beschloss der Bundesrat, sich weiterhin am UNHCR Resettlement-Programm zu beteiligen und innerhalb eines Jahres bis zu 800 besonders schutzbedürftige Flüchtlinge, namentlich Opfer des Syrienkonflikts, in der Schweiz aufzunehmen.

Aufgrund der fortwährenden humanitären Krise entlang der Mittelmeerroute beschloss das EJPD am 16. April 2019 zudem bis zu 50 Plätze des bestehenden Resettlement III-Kontingents für die Aufnahme von besonders schutzbedürftigen Personen aus Libyen zur Verfügung zu stellen. Basierend darauf nahm die Schweiz 35 Personen mit syrischer, eritreischer und sudanesischer Staatsangehörigkeit auf. Das UNHCR hatte diese bereits zuvor aus Libyen in den Niger evakuiert.

Seit dem 1. Mai 2019 erfolgen die Integrationsmassnahmen für die Resettlement-Flüchtlinge im Rahmen der Integrationsagenda Schweiz IAS.

Anfang 2020 wurde das Programm Resettlement III erfolgreich abgeschlossen, wobei insgesamt 798 schutzbedürftige Personen in die Schweiz einreisten. Abgesehen von wenigen Personen aus Libyen handelte es sich bei den aufgenommenen Flüchtlingen um Opfer des Syrienkonflikts – grossmehrheitlich um syrische Familien, die sich nach der Flucht aus ihrem Heimatland im Libanon aufgehalten hatten.

Bundesratsbeschluss vom 29. Mai 2019: Resettlement 2020/2021

Am 29. Mai 2019 verabschiedete der Bundesrat das Umsetzungskonzept Resettlement, von dem er bereits am 30. November 2018 Kenntnis genommen hatte. Dieses hatten Fachpersonen des Bundes, der Kantone, Gemeinden und Städte, sowie von weiteren Organisationen gemeinsam erarbeitet. Das Konzept sieht eine Verstetigung der Schweizer Resettlement-Politik vor, mit dem Ziel einer besseren Planbarkeit bei der Unterbringung und längerfristigen Betreuung der Flüchtlinge durch die Kantone und Gemeinden. So soll der Bundesrat in Zukunft alle zwei Jahre über das genaue Aufnahmekontingent innerhalb der Bandbreite von 1500 bis 2000 Personen entscheiden.

Mit Resettlement 2020/2021 kam diese Strategie erstmals zur Anwendung. Für die beiden Jahre beschloss der Bundesrat die Aufnahme von bis zu 1600 besonders schutzbedürftigen Flüchtlingen: Mindestens 80 Prozent des Kontingents sind für Personengruppen aus den Krisenregionen des Nahen Ostens und entlang der Migrationsroute über das zentrale Mittelmeer vorgesehen, und die restlichen maximal 20 Prozent für kurzfristige humanitäre Notsituationen.

Letzte Änderung 28.07.2020

Zum Seitenanfang