Asylum regions and federal asylum centres

Since 1 March 2019, the asylum procedure in Switzerland has been organised into six asylum regions. Each of these regions has a federal asylum centre that conduct the asylum procedure and up to four centres that do not.

Federal asylum centres

In future SEM will be able to provide 5,000 places for asylum seekers in asylum centres. There are three different types of federal asylum centre:

  • Federal asylum centre with processing facilities
    Asylum seekers can lodge an asylum application in these asylum centres. All applications are examined and the decision over whether to grant asylum made at the centre. The entire process takes place under one roof, thus speeding up the asylum procedure. Asylum seekers remain in these centres while their application is processed; they are no longer transferred to the cantonal authorities, unless additional information has to be obtained and an extended procedure is required. These federal asylum centres house accommodation for asylum seekers as well as offices for interviewers, interpreters, document examiners and lawyers.
A large park with old trees and in the background various buildings accommodating asylum seekers.
enlarge_picture The federal asylum centre with processing facilities in Boudry (Canton of Neuchâtel) has been open since April 2018. (photo: SEM © Marco Frauchiger)
  • Federal asylum centre without processing facilities
    These federal asylum centres are mainly occupied by people who are due to be removed to another Dublin member state under the Dublin Regulation or whose asylum applications have been rejected. They remain in the federal centres and are no longer transferred to the cantonal asylum centres, unless they cannot be removed from Switzerland within the set period of 140 days. These centres therefore house people who usually have to leave Switzerland within a short period of time.
      
  • Special centres
    If an asylum seeker significantly endangers public safety and order or if their conduct massively disrupts the operation of normal federal asylum centres, they may be temporarily accommodated in a special centre. One such centre operates in Les Verrières (NE), and a second centre is planned in the German-speaking part of Switzerland.

Further information

Documentation

Dossier

Press releases

to the top Last modification 01.03.2019

Asylregionen und Bundesasylzentren

Seit dem 1. März 2019 werden die Asylverfahren in der Schweiz in sechs Asylregionen durchgeführt. Jede Region verfügt über ein Bundesasylzentrum mit Verfahrensfunktion und bis zu vier Bundesasylzentren ohne Verfahrensfunktion.

Bundesasylzentren

Das SEM betreibt künftig insgesamt 5000 Unterbringungsplätze für Asylsuchende. Diese sind in drei verschiedenen Typen von Bundesasylzentren untergebracht:

  • Bundesasylzentren mit Verfahrensfunktion
    In diesen Bundesasylzentren werden die Asylgesuche eingereicht und geprüft, und das SEM entschiedet auch dort über diese. Alle Akteure arbeiten unter einem Dach zusammen. Dadurch können die Asylgesuche in einem beschleunigten Verfahren durchgeführt werden. Die Gesuchstellenden bleiben für die Dauer ihres Verfahrens in diesen Zentren und werden nicht mehr an die Kantone überwiesen – es sei denn, es müssen zusätzliche Abklärungen gemacht und ein erweitertes Verfahren eingeleitet werden. In den Bundesasylzentren Zentren gibt es neben den Unterkünften für die Gesuchstellenden auch Büroräumlichkeiten für Befrager/innen, Dolmetscher/innen, Dokumentenprüfer/innen und die Rechtsvertretung.
Ein grosser Park mit alten Bäumen und im Hintergrund verschiedene Gebäude, in denen die Asylsuchenden leben.
enlarge_picture Das Bundesasylzentrum mit Verfahrensfunktion in Boudry (Kanton Neuenburg) ist seit April 2018 in Betrieb. (Foto: SEM © Marco Frauchiger)
  • Bundesasylzentren ohne Verfahrensfunktion (mit Warte- und Ausreisefunktion)
    In diesen Bundesasylzentren halten sich überwiegend Personen auf, deren Asylverfahren unter das Dublin-Abkommen fällt oder deren Asylgesuch abgelehnt wurde. Diese Personen bleiben in den Zentren des Bundes und werden nicht mehr in die kantonalen Asylzentren transferiert – es sei denn, ihre Wegweisung lässt sich nicht innerhalb der Gesamtdauer von 140 Tagen vollziehen. Es handelt sich also um Personen, die die Schweiz in der Regel nach kurzer Zeit wieder verlassen müssen.
      
  • Besondere Zentren
    Wenn ein Asylsuchender die öffentliche Sicherheit und Ordnung erheblich gefährdet oder den Betrieb der normalen Bundesasylzentren durch sein Verhalten massiv stört, kann er vorübergehend in einem besonderen Zentrum untergebracht werden. Ein solches Zentrum wird in Les Verrières (NE) betrieben, ein zweites Zentrum ist in der Deutschschweiz geplant.

Weitere Infos

Dokumentation

Dossier

nach oben Letzte Änderung 01.03.2019