Reception and preparatory phase

The fingerprints of an asylum seeker appear on a computer screen and are checked by a SEM staff member.
enlarge_picture An asylum seeker is registered at the federal asylum centre in Basel and his fingerprints compared with Eurodac, the EU’s central fingerprint database. (photo: SEM © Gerry Amstutz)

Once they have lodged an asylum claim, all asylum seekers are allocated to one of the federal asylum centre with processing facilities. First the asylum seeker is identified and it is established whether Switzerland is responsible for conducting the asylum procedure. Then, in a preparatory phase lasting up to three weeks, the asylum seeker’s personal details are recorded; fingerprints are taken and compared with Eurodac, the European fingerprint database; it is asked how the asylum seeker reached Switzerland; a health-check carried out and if necessary, the asylum seeker’s age is assessed and a DNA analysis conducted.

More information on initial allocation

Eurodac

Eurodac is the central fingerprint database of the European Union for asylum matters. It has been operating since 15 January 2003 and was set up in order to register asylum applicants and thus apply the Dublin Regulation effectively.

All asylum applicants who are at least 14 years old and are not citizens of a Dublin member state are registered in Eurodac. It also contains details of persons who are caught illegally crossing the borders of the Dublin Area and are not turned back. Eurodac may also be used to check persons who are illegally present in a Dublin member state.

More information on the Dublin Regulation

Legal protection

At the beginning of the asylum procedure, all asylum seekers receive free legal advice about their rights and obligations. They are also offered the free services of a lawyer, who informs them of their chances of obtaining asylum. The lawyer provides support at each stage of the asylum procedure, takes part in hearings, responds to the draft of any negative asylum decision and if necessary draws up an appeal.

Advice and support in case of removal

Asylum seekers with little chance of being granted asylum in Switzerland are informed early on about the possibility of returning to their country of origin voluntarily. There is a return counselling service that helps people to organise their return and may provide financial support to help them reintegrate into life in their country of origin. Support is provided on a diminishing scale: the later an asylum seeker decides to return home voluntarily, the less financial help they receive. The status of their asylum procedure and the length of time they have spent in Switzerland are also taken into account.

to the top Last modification 01.03.2019

Empfang und Vorbereitungsphase

Auf einem Bildschirm erscheinen die Fingerabdrücke von einem Asylsuchenden, die ein Mitarbeitender des SEM kontrolliert.
enlarge_picture Im Bundesasylzentrum Basel wird ein Asylsuchender registriert und die Fingerabdrücke mit Eurodac, der zentralen Fingerabdruckdatenbank der EU, abgeglichen. (Foto: SEM © Gerry Amstutz)

Alle Asylsuchenden werden nach Einreichung ihres Gesuchs einem Bundesasylzentrum mit Verfahrensfunktion zugewiesen. Als erstes wird die Identität der Asylsuchenden und die Zuständigkeit der Schweiz für die Durchführung des Asylverfahrens abgeklärt. Innerhalb von drei Wochen werden in der sogenannten Vorbereitungsphase die Personalien der Asylsuchenden erfasst, Fingerabdrücke genommen und mit der europäischen Datenbank Eurodac abgeglichen, eine Befragung zum Reiseweg durchgeführt, der Gesundheitszustand abgeklärt und bei Bedarf Altersbestimmungen und DNA-Analysen veranlasst.

Mehr Informationen zur Erstverteilung

Eurodac

Eurodac ist die zentrale Fingerabdruckdatenbank der Europäischen Union in Asylangelegenheiten. Sie ist seit dem 15. Januar 2003 in Betrieb und wurde errichtet, um asylsuchende Personen registrieren und damit die Dublin-Verordnung effektiv anwenden zu können.

In Eurodac gespeichert werden alle Asylgesuchsteller, welche das 14. Altersjahr erreicht haben und nicht über die Staatsangehörigkeit eines Dublin Staates verfügen. Ebenso gespeichert werden Personen, die beim illegalen Überscheiten der Grenze des Dublin Raums aufgegriffen und nicht zurückgewiesen werden. Ferner können Personen mit illegalem Aufenthalt in einem Dublin Mitgliedstaat in Eurodac überprüft werden.

Mehr Informationen zur Dublin-Verordnung

Rechtsschutz

Alle Asylsuchenden erhalten zu Beginn des Asylverfahrens eine kostenlose Beratung, welche sie über ihre Rechte und Pflichten informiert. Zusätzlich wird den Asylsuchenden eine kostenlose Rechtsvertretung zur Verfügung gestellt, welche die Asylsuchenden über ihre Chance im Asylverfahren aufklärt. Die Rechtsvertretung begleitet sie in allen verfahrensrelevanten Schritten, nimmt an den Anhörungen teil, nimmt Stellung zum Entwurf eines ablehnenden Asylentscheids und verfasst gegebenenfalls eine Beschwerdeschrift.

Rückkehrberatung und Rückkehrhilfe

Asylsuchende, die geringe Chancen auf ein Bleiberecht in der Schweiz haben, werden frühzeitig und aktiv über die Möglichkeit der freiwilligen Rückkehr informiert. Im Falle einer Rückkehr ist die Rückkehrberatung bei der Organisation der Ausreise behilflich und kann finanzielle Hilfe für die Reintegration im Heimatstaat gewähren. Die Rückkehrhilfe ist nach einem degressiven System aufgebaut: Unter Berücksichtigung des Verfahrensstands und der Aufenthaltsdauer werden die Rückkehrleistungen reduziert, je später sich ein Asylsuchender zur freiwilligen Rückkehr entscheidet.

nach oben Letzte Änderung 01.03.2019