Reception and preparatory phase

The fingerprints of an asylum seeker appear on a computer screen and are checked by a SEM staff member.
enlarge_picture An asylum seeker is registered at the federal asylum centre in Basel and his fingerprints compared with Eurodac, the EU’s central fingerprint database. (photo: SEM © Gerry Amstutz)

Once they have lodged an asylum claim, all asylum seekers are allocated to one of the federal asylum centre with processing facilities. First the asylum seeker is identified and it is established whether Switzerland is responsible for conducting the asylum procedure. Then, in a preparatory phase lasting up to three weeks, the asylum seeker’s personal details are recorded; fingerprints are taken and compared with Eurodac, the European fingerprint database; it is asked how the asylum seeker reached Switzerland; a health-check carried out and if necessary, the asylum seeker’s age is assessed and a DNA analysis conducted.

More information on initial allocation

Eurodac

Eurodac is the central fingerprint database of the European Union for asylum matters. It has been operating since 15 January 2003 and was set up in order to register asylum applicants and thus apply the Dublin Regulation effectively.

All asylum applicants who are at least 14 years old and are not citizens of a Dublin member state are registered in Eurodac. It also contains details of persons who are caught illegally crossing the borders of the Dublin Area and are not turned back. Eurodac may also be used to check persons who are illegally present in a Dublin member state.

More information on the Dublin Regulation

Legal protection

At the beginning of the asylum procedure, all asylum seekers receive free legal advice about their rights and obligations. They are also offered the free services of a lawyer, who informs them of their chances of obtaining asylum. The lawyer provides support at each stage of the asylum procedure, takes part in hearings, responds to the draft of any negative asylum decision and if necessary draws up an appeal.

Advice and support in case of removal

Asylum seekers with little chance of being granted asylum in Switzerland are informed early on about the possibility of returning to their country of origin voluntarily. There is a return counselling service that helps people to organise their return and may provide financial support to help them reintegrate into life in their country of origin. Support is provided on a diminishing scale: the later an asylum seeker decides to return home voluntarily, the less financial help they receive. The status of their asylum procedure and the length of time they have spent in Switzerland are also taken into account.

to the top Last modification 01.03.2019

Accueil et phase préparatoire

Un collaborateur du SEM contrôle les empreintes digitales d’un requérant d’asile sur un écran.
enlarge_picture Au centre fédéral pour requérants d’asile de Bâle, un requérant est enregistré et ses empreintes digitales sont comparées avec celles qui figurent dans Eurodac, la base de données centralisée de l’Union européenne. (photo: SEM © Gerry Amstutz)

Une fois qu’ils ont déposé leur demande, tous les requérants d’asile sont attribués à un centre fédéral pour requérants d’asile assumant des tâches procédurales. La première démarche consiste alors à établir leur identité ainsi que la compétence de la Suisse pour mener la procédure d’asile. S’ensuivent, dans un délai de trois semaines (phase préparatoire), la saisie des données personnelles des requérants, le relevé de leurs empreintes digitales et la comparaison de ces dernières avec celles enregistrées dans la base de données européenne Eurodac, une audition sur l’itinéraire qu’ils ont emprunté, un bilan de leur état de santé et, au besoin, des examens visant à déterminer leur âge et des analyses de leur ADN.

En savoir plus sur la première répartition

Eurodac

Eurodac est un système d’information de l’Union européenne. Il comprend notamment une base de données centrale où sont collectées les empreintes digitales des requérants d’asile et des immigrants clandestins. Opérationnelle depuis le 15 janvier 2003, elle a été conçue pour faciliter l’application du règlement Dublin.

Sont enregistrés dans Eurodac tous les requérants d’asile âgés de plus de 14 ans qui ne possèdent pas la nationalité d’un État Dublin et les personnes appréhendées à l'occasion du franchissement irrégulier d’une frontière extérieure de l’espace Dublin qui n’ont pas été renvoyées. Les étrangers se trouvant illégalement sur le territoire d’un État Dublin peuvent faire l’objet d’une vérification dans Eurodac.

En savoir plus sur le règlement Dublin

Protection juridique

Dès le début de la procédure d’asile, tous les requérants d’asile ont droit à un conseiller et à un représentant juridique gratuits. Le premier les informe de leurs droits et obligations ; le second les éclaire sur les chances qu’a leur demande d’asile d’aboutir, les accompagne dans toutes les étapes déterminantes de la procédure, participe aux auditions, donne son avis sur tout projet de décision d’asile négative et, si nécessaire, rédige un mémoire de recours.

Conseil en vue du retour et aide au retour

Les requérants d’asile qui ont peu de chances d’obtenir le droit de rester en Suisse sont informés suffisamment tôt de la possibilité du retour volontaire qui leur est offerte. S’ils en font usage, un service-conseil en vue du retour les aidera à organiser leur départ et pourra leur accorder une aide financière en vue de leur réintégration dans leur pays d’origine. L’aide au retour repose sur un système dégressif en fonction de l’état d’avancement de la procédure et de la durée du séjour de l’intéressé. Elle diminue à mesure qu’un requérant tarde à opter pour un retour volontaire.

vers le haut Dernière modification 01.03.2019